Skip to content

update and closure

November 12, 2010

Here’s what has been going on lately:

Women’s Running Magazine Half Marathon – Scottsdale, AZ

Fun time.  Loved every minute I spent with my FastRunnerFriend (FRF-remember her?). 

After our first day of traveling we were sitting in the hotel bar sharing mutual admiration of each other and gushing over how relaxing it was to not have to do ANYTHING when we realized we were in the same town as the PHOENIX SUNS.  We both L.O.V.E. Steve Nash so I decided to see where they were playing.  THEY WERE HOME!!  It was 6pm and the game started at 7pm.  Talked to the bartender about the game.  He assured us we could get tickets and even found us another couple to ride to the arena with (young & drunk).  Bought tickets from “Kenny” who asked if we were married – which caused me to choke and laugh to tears (FRF is hott but I don’t swing that way).  Then proceeded to watch the SUNS win in double overtime.  Yay – I guess.  Just wanted to see Nash.

The remainder of the trip was focused on finding my purpose – there just happened to be a half-marathon thrown in (2:07:18 – three walk breaks – dizzy at mile 9 – dehydration or something – on pace for a 1:55 before that – oh well – maybe next week).  We both learned a lot about each other and I came away with some answers.   The biggest one being I LOVE TO TALK to people.  And that discussion has continued to bring things to my attention:

  • I remembered I was voted “Most Likely to Replace Oprah” when I was a senior in high school.  Hmmm…I am searching for a new direction and she is leaving her show…. coincidence??

  • My husband flatly stated last night (after hearing yet another “this couple we met in AZ…” story) “you sure meet a lot of people when you travel”.  Yes.  Yes I do.  It’s why I travel.  Learn about people.  Encourage them.  Then head home.

  • This blog thing isn’t for me.  Seriously.  I type and type and type and get nothing.  It doesn’t fulfill me.  It doesn’t inspire me.  Nothing.  I’m more of a face-to-face gal.  Email is nice but nothing like laughing until you pee a little – and that only comes when I’m in the presence of others.  Lucky.

So.  Here’s what I have to offer to you today.  It’s a one-time offer so I hope you enjoy:

If you are a woman – you MUST run the Women’s Half.  They put on the best races on the planet.  Hands down.  Best medal EV-ER!!

The Women's Half Marathon Unique Finisher's Medal

If you are looking for a present for someone go visit AnneFranklinDesigns.  She sent me a necklace as a promotion for a giveaway but I don’t have the time. (sorry Anne)  So check her out:

Anne recently completed her first marathon in Denver – her two daughters were at the finish-line.  That might be one of my happiest things – Mommies who have a goal and achieve it…right in front of their girls.  Congrats Anne!  That was so cool to hear about. 

She made me the 13.1 – LOVE it!

It’s been real and it’s been fun – but probably only about three times.  Sorry if you feel jipped.

Love every last one of you who have taken the time to visit over the last year.  Seriously.  I think I actually have met (or am about to meet *wink*) all of my readers. 😉

Keep Running Your Race – where ever it may lead you.

Later ~ S

3 Comments leave one →
  1. November 12, 2010 11:24 pm

    Nice job, Chica, in AZ. Sorry things didn’t go better, but it sounds like you have another this weekend (crazy woman!!). Glad you had some great girl-time!!
    XO

  2. November 13, 2010 9:01 am

    Glad you enjoyed AZ–I’m seriously considering that race maybe next year. Email me when you’re around here (and it’s cool) so we can go sub 2!!!

  3. November 14, 2010 11:46 pm

    Closure? Am I reading this correctly? I love your blog; it’s such a shame that you feel you aren’t getting anything from it because I do.

    It’s cool here today. If you want a Canadian race, let me know.

Leave a Reply

