Skip to content

dressing like a ‘girl’

October 14, 2010

I need some help.  With my last post I expressed ‘growth’ in life.  But there is one area I continue to struggle – dressing like a girl. 

I don’t want to be a girly girl:

Go to fullsize image

but I don’t want to be too butch either:

Go to fullsize image

I’m looking for a happy medium.  While also trying to remember I’m 41 years old:

View Image

sure – she looks HOTT – but it’s not for me

Where do you like to buy clothes?  Keeping in mind – I HATE patterns, I have a booty, I have children & a husband, and I would break my leg in a pair of heels.

Any ideas are welcome. 

Shine on!

13 Comments leave one →
  1. October 14, 2010 10:50 am

    Hey! A new catalog came in the mail (www.softsurroundings.com)…liked some of the clothes. They seem feminine yet not frilly (a few exceptions). There were a couple things I would buy.
    I love wearing tunics and capri jeans that are not too loose but comfy. I also have found a few great things at Target…I always do.

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 11:30 am

      I will look at it.
      It already sounds a little – ‘soft’ for my rugged good looks.

  2. October 14, 2010 10:59 am

    I am probably no help. Can’t remember when I bought non-running clothes actually.
    When I did it was Lucy, Athleta….White House Black Market when I needed to scare something nice up for hubby’s work holiday party last year. Ann Taylor was a fave although I can’t remember when I’ve last been in.

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 11:31 am

      Me too!
      That’s why I’m so stuck. RoadRunnerSports gets the majority of paychecks.
      I forgot about White House…
      Will check it out too.

  3. October 14, 2010 11:19 am

    I can’t help either, most of my purchases are workout related. I do like to shop at The Limited and Ann Taylor for work and Old Navy for goof off clothes though.

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 11:31 am

      Yep. Old Navy is where I find most of my ‘dress clothes’ – lame.

  4. October 14, 2010 12:00 pm

    The Gap is my favorite!!

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 1:20 pm

      I do like how their stuff fits.

  5. October 14, 2010 12:06 pm

    American Eagle, The Gap, White House Black Market– these are comfy/female/fabulous places. 🙂

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 1:21 pm

      Good. It’s that ‘female’ part I’m working on.
      Geeze – I sound trans-gender – notthattheresanythingwrongwiththat~

  6. October 14, 2010 1:38 pm

    Don’t look at me. I shop at Forever 21 and probably shouldn’t. No I’m not a slut. I just want to be 21 Forever (with a broken femur). When do you get into town?

    • Shana permalink
      October 14, 2010 1:52 pm

      well I’m a slut and I shop the men’s jeans at Old Navy!
      wrong topic.
      we are headed out tomorrow. that leg thing sucks!!
      i’ll e-mail you.

  7. October 14, 2010 10:26 pm

    I’m 45 and my FAVORITE place to shop in a store or on line is ANTHROPOLOGIE. Shoes, pants, tops, etc. I’m an addict. I don’t ever, ever buy anything there that isn’t on sale…it’s expensive. But, I always feel happy and great in their clothes and they are different.
    Rock what you have in what makes you feel like rockin’. Go girl!!

Leave a Reply

