Skip to content

running thoughts

August 31, 2010
WARNING: This blog is in a constant process of metamorphosis.  Let the craziness ensue.
Do you ever get bored with blogging?  Bored of reading blogs?  Bored of reading my blog?  Bored of me blogging?
No?!?!?!  Shocking.
I do. 
Let’s run through my process of me writing a blog.
Pretend I’m on a long run – maybe and 18 miler (that’s what my friend did and she did it well).  As I run along I have many thoughts on blogging.  “I should write a post about hill workouts.  Nah. Hill workouts suck!  And I barely do them.  Forget that.” “Maybe I should post about the hilarious conversation my son and I had about him pointing out that I might want to buy KY Intense because the commercials are so funny. Nah. There are people from church that read this blog.  I don’t want them to know that my son knows that his father and I have sex.” “I should write a post about different dog-running-companions.  HA! My dog’s the best.  Unless you own him, you’d never understand.” “I know. I’ll post about what I ate last night and why my gas is so pungent/not smelly during this long run. Nope. Beth already has the gas/poop thing covered.”  “I’ve got it.  I’ll post about the 1001 ways you can pretend you are winning the Boston Marathon by making up fake participants in the form of trees, grass, weeds, and jack-offs you pass on the trails.”  I really should share the importance of being safe when you run.  I should tell readers that I have run across two different men masturbating and one who tried to abduct my friend and I.  That’ll freak folks out.”   The list goes on and on.   Obviously I never get to the point of posting that stuff.  You see, it takes time to run that far – or read about your friend running that far – usually the same time I am supposed to be working or feeding my family.  What I like about blogging is it’s what I want to write and how I want to write it. 
So, here’s what I’m going to try.  I’m going to try to organize my posts by the days of the week.
Monday = Menu Monday – at least 2x’s/week someone asks me what I’m fixing for dinner and “wishes someone would just plan their meals for them”.  I like to do that.  So I’ll share my disgusting menu with you.  Maybe even be honest about all the crap I shove down my gullet.
Wednesday = Workout Wednesday – this will be the post where I brag/cry/complain/describe in as little or as much detail as I want.  Hell.  It’s my blog.  I’ll type however much I want.
Friday = Flip Out Friday – this is when I will attempt to share any ridiculous moment that happened that week and how I dealt with it, as a professional, as a parent, or as a citizen. 
If you are thinking “What does all this have to do with running?”  My answer: I never claimed to write a running blog.  My title is based on the race that we are all running = LIFE.  Maybe I misread you and what you are really thinking is, “Doesn’t she know there are more than 3 days of the week?”  Sure.  We all know there are 6.  Am I right?  But I can’t commit that much time to you. I have better things to do.  Like read your blogs and judge the crap out of what you’re doing.  😉  Maybe you’ll get a freebie every now & again – an ‘extra post’ of sorts.  If so, consider yourself damn lucky. 
Let’s see how long this lasts.  I’m willing to try just about anything (legal) – however my track record for follow through is 10% at best.
Run on Friends!
13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 31, 2010 10:46 am

    I love reading..sometimes just a hard time writing!! But its been a great inspiration to read and also a great support system as well!

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 2:24 pm

      I know. I love all the different blogs out there & how everyone seems to be experiencing many of the same (mileage, injuries, heat, humidity) struggles as me.

  2. August 31, 2010 12:44 pm

    I know I get tired of blogging and reading blogs at times, but there’s people I like to follow (ahem) who I can’t talk to as often as I like so it’s good to see what they’re doing, what they’re up to :). And don’t ever compare yourself to the likes of others, girl – you run your own race!!!!

    LOVE YA!!!

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 2:25 pm

      MmHm. I’m with you. It was fun to talk about all of the different blogs over lunch.

      I only compare to fast folks – like you – to get encouraged to run harder.

  3. August 31, 2010 12:58 pm

    I like the agenda, should be some interesting reading. Much more so then the random shit that pops into my head and I blog about.
    I get tired of reading all the blogs too, but I make sure and keep up with certain ones.

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 2:26 pm

      Right.
      Apparently we know who the ‘certain ones’ are. *wink wink*

  4. August 31, 2010 1:08 pm

    I go through blogging slumps sometimes, this year it was called Summer. You blog about whatever you please and I’ll be here reading…well, mostly, sometimes I go through blog reading slumps but yours is one that I usually read no matter what…unless I have like 500 blogs in my reader, then I just click ‘mark all as read’ because I’m lazy like that. <—That was an awfully long run on sentence.

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 2:27 pm

      Good answer Allie “yours is the one that I usually read no matter what…” we will pretend you didn’t say the last part and run on sentences are how I think so I really like them a lot. 🙂

  5. August 31, 2010 7:55 pm

    i will read fridays.

    ha.

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 7:57 pm

      give me a week.
      nothing exciting has happened so far.
      at least nothing i can talk about in a public forum. 😉

  6. August 31, 2010 8:10 pm

    i love you.

    • Shana permalink
      September 1, 2010 6:04 am

      hey cass.
      love you too.
      hope all the planning for the run is going well.

  7. September 1, 2010 9:37 am

    Haha cant wait to read more! Nice idea

    Ross

Leave a Reply

