Skip to content

Return of mojo

August 30, 2010

Thank God! 

I have been waiting for my running mojo to return. It did.  And it did BIG!

Saturday morning we woke up our offspring at the ridiculous hour of 7:45am to run a 2 mile fun run to benefit our local cross-country team.  It was a perfect morning – cool temps (for august) and light breeze (for KS) .  I had my new Garmin charged and ready. 

Prior to the start of the race I felt good.  The day before I pushed convinced my friend to purchase an outfit to match me.  We were both easy to spot with our black shorts and bright yellow tops (school colors).  Saw many happy faces and met a few gals who read this trashy classy blog. HOLLA Nickerson girls!!   It was also important for me to find a small child to run with LittleFoot.  Typically I’m a fairly decent parent.  I don’t beat them with tire-irons – I feed them regularly – and we’ve been known to say a kind word here & there – but when it comes to racing, my kids’ got to go!   For 5 days I had pitifully heard, “mom? will you stay with me at the race?”  Let me interpret: mom.  I want to hold your hand.  I want to walk slow.  I want to complain about every step.  I want to hold you back from the magical feeling you get when you run.  I want to make you so frustrated that you beat yourself up all day for not enjoying precious time with your daughter before she grows up and leaves you!”    At least that’s what I hear.   Lucky for us – she had a friend invite her to join a group of girls.   Thank God (again)!  Mommy gets to run!!  

As the crowd of 149 runners gathered around the starting line we all noticed a guy dressed as Spiderman.  Okay.  Not exactly.  But close.  The dude had on a onesy.  A one-piece, red white & blue, lycra, leave-nothing-to-the-imagination, onesy.   My husband said, “I usually don’t break out the lycra one-piece unless I’m going more than 3!”  Hahahaha.   In bigger races I expect to runners wearing anything and everything.  However, running against my neighbors and my friend’s sister-in-law I expect to see t-shirts and gym shorts.  Just sayin’.

The race is held on our rape bike path.  One big loop.  Starting at the park – running up one side and back down the other.  You see every runner the entire course.

The gun shot off.  My calves felt great.  I ran faster than I ever have in my life.  I took 3rd in my age group.  And felt awesome afterward.  I didn’t know I had it in me.  16:58 baby! 

I also checked off one of my goals for the year “Race in a running skirt.” 

LittleFoot walked most of the race with her friends.  At one point she yelled across the creek (in the middle of the race) “Can I stop by home to get a bottle of water??”  WHAT?? Really?  Probably slowed me down a little. 😉  BigFoot finished just behind us (yes. my husband is required to run by my side) with his girly-friend.  The friend and her husband finished just behind them.  The winner ran it in 9:40!  *gulp* And he was wearing compression socks – my hero.

Stayed around to get my award free food & caught up with folks we hadn’t seen in a while.  Heard about new running ventures – triathlon ventures – and plans for the weekend.  Got my medal.  Pouted for a second because I wanted to beat my friend’s sister-in-law before she aged up.  She beat me by 37 seconds. FARTS!

I loved it.  I felt like I was back.  I didn’t have any pressure or plans for this race.  Sure, it was small.  Sure, I know the path like the inside of my panty drawer.  Sure, I knew everyone would be safe.  But I had NO idea I could run that speed for more than a 1/4 of a mile.  I liked it.  And I like mojo.  Good times. 

Run on!

* pictures to come.  I let my friends take care of that stuff.

13 Comments leave one →
  1. August 30, 2010 2:13 pm

    Way to go, that is so awesome. The thought of running 2 miles in 9:40 makes me want to throw up, LOL.

    • Shana permalink
      August 30, 2010 2:18 pm

      That was 8:29! Can you effing believe that!?!?!

      ps – thanks. 😉

  2. August 30, 2010 2:30 pm

    Great job sis! Guess that explains why “Run with me” was just ME. Was scared of being attacked on secluded trail and only made it 1 lap (1.26 mile). Then ran to my truck, jumped in a took a breath. * Totally confirmed my need for a Great Dane. Cody agrees too- especially after finally telling him about the dog that jumped me on the bike path last week. (dont worry- I won)

    • Shana permalink
      August 30, 2010 3:40 pm

      yes. get a puppy! we want another so bad but dad says ‘no’. what a butthead.

      • August 31, 2010 9:53 am

        We are stil debating the choice…
        me: Blue Great Dane
        cody: Mastiff
        other: aussie

  3. cristy permalink
    August 30, 2010 9:24 pm

    Yep, the stork sisters and I thought the running skirts were quite awesome…very cute too! 🙂

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 9:01 am

      Thanks. I was surprised I liked it.

  4. August 31, 2010 8:13 am

    Yay for you!! See, that running skirt made you fast.

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 9:01 am

      Hmmmm. . .maybe I’ll test that theory in Denver.

  5. August 31, 2010 12:56 pm

    Whoot! Get it girl! Nice race!
    I love running my my skirt, but it starts to chaff on the longer runs (I can only do so much with that Glide stuff).

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 3:28 pm

      Thank you.
      Yes. My Glide has seen places only 2 others have.

  6. August 31, 2010 3:54 pm

    Good times indeed! When you get done inspecting your panty drawer would be a doll and send some of that mojo my way? Congrats!

    • Shana permalink
      August 31, 2010 7:56 pm

      I hope you’re not expecting my the mojo to come from my panty drawer. That would be nasty.

Leave a Reply

