Skip to content

Birthday review

August 25, 2010
tags: ,

This was the best birthday EVER!  

In the past I had an idea of how I wanted my birthday to be.  Now I know.  I want to do whatever I want to do.  It’s okay if no one wants to join me, but on this one day each year, I want to do whatever sounds good to me.   That’s just what I did. 

The morning started off with french toast & bacon + 3 cups of coffee.  Salt. Sugar. Caffeine.  I was ready to conquer anything.  

The kids ran off for a few minutes and returned with this:

 Womens Garmin Forerunner 110 w/ HRM Monitors

Ain’t she purdy?  For those of you who are not familiar – that is a picture of my new Garmin.  She is going to tell me how far, how fast, and how crazy I am when I run.  She has a heart rate monitor that goes with her that I doubt I will use much, however have been known to get a bit overzealous, so who knows. 

After the excitement of that gift the fam asked what I wanted to do for the day.  Paint.  I want to paint.  I still want to paint.  For 8 years I have lived in my friend’s house (we bought it from them).  It is time for it to become my house.  So we made a plan and started painting.  First with the shelves around the fire-place.  Finished the 2nd coat on monday and bought wall paint for 3 more rooms.  I’m so happy. 

Other exciting things that happened on my birthday? 

 My 13-year-old let me hold him on my lap, kiss him, and he snuggled with me on the couch.  It filled my love bucket BIG TIME!

Mom came over for dinner.  She got a well deserved break from caring for my step-father and enjoyed just ‘being’. 

Friends came over and drank beer with us on the patio after dark.

Kids went to bed on time without any instruction or need for further kisses/snuggles/pillow talk after saying ‘good-night’. 

It. Was. Perfect. 

Can’t wait to use my Garmin.  She is currently sitting on my desk smiling at me.  I can tell she’s getting antsy because she’s moved from where I first put her.  The calves have been on a much deserved break & are feeling quite nice.  Maybe tomorrow baby, maybe tomorrow. 

Thanks to everyone who left birthday comments/wishes.  A big shout-out to Jamoosh who wins the prize for being “Most Likely to Follow the Rules”.  Thanks Jamoosh(your comment was stuck in spamland for a few days – wonder why?).

Run on!     

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 25, 2010 1:32 pm

    I love those bdays too! Your GPS is very purdy and I bet she will help you run faster!! Coming to visit soon?! A

  2. August 25, 2010 1:55 pm

    There is only one thing I can say when someone receives a Garmin as a gift – SWEET!

  3. August 25, 2010 2:48 pm

    Oh she is puuurrdy! Really puts my old relic to shame, not to complain or anything.
    Glad your special day was perfecto!

    • Shana permalink
      August 25, 2010 4:09 pm

      Yeah.
      If only I knew how to use her.
      Push “start” when I start and “stop” when I stop? Right?
      I hope it’s not much harder than that.

  4. August 26, 2010 1:49 pm

    all this time i thought you wanted a GPS like for your car….that plugs in to the lighter.
    i never understood why.
    you’d talk about it and i’d think….doesn’t she have one of those already?
    🙂
    seriously.

    THAT garmin is very cool.
    makes complete sense.
    perfect gift.

    • Shana permalink
      August 26, 2010 2:10 pm

      ah yes. i should be more clear.
      it is super cool.

  5. August 26, 2010 7:20 pm

    Awwww, perfect birthday for sure!! Can’t wait for you to get that Garmin fired up and get you running again!!
    Love ya!!! xo

    • Shana permalink
      August 26, 2010 7:28 pm

      Short. Tiny. Sweet run today. It worked perfect! I love it! (and you).

Leave a Reply

