Skip to content

Happy Birthday to Me!

August 22, 2010
tags:

To celebrate my 41st birthday I thought I would share all of my secrets.  Some, not so secret.  Others, big.

  1. I started school on my 5th birthday.  The entire class rode the bus home with me for a party in our yard.

  2. I started college on my 18th birthday.  Had already bar-hopped for 2 weeks prior.

  3. I look just like my older brother – therefore bar-hopping as his ‘twin’ worked.

  4. I hate scary movies.

  5. I love dark humor.

  6. I went to school with the same 12 kids from kindergarten – 11th grade.

  7. I transferred to a different school my Senior year.

  8. I met my husband within 2 weeks of transferring to the new school. (God is funny.)

  9. We broke up for a year and a half in college.

  10. I cheated on him.  If you believe, “Once a cheater. Always a cheater.” You’re wrong.

  11. I’m inappropriate 75% of the time. 5% of the time I am ‘professional’. 20% of the time I am parenting. 😉

  12. I laugh at EVERYTHING on the inside.

  13. When people start talking “smart” – my eyes glaze over & I pick at my fingernails.

  14. My mom & birth-dad divorced when I was 1. She remarried when I was 2.  He adopted my brother & I.  They divorced 5 seconds before my wedding (give or take a few seconds).

  15. My brothers walked me down the aisle.

  16. I have trust & commitment issues. 

  17. It’s hard for me to believe someone when they say, “I love you.” Unless they birthed me, married me, I birthed them, or they have been my friend for 20+ years. 

  18. When I say, “I love you.” I mean it.  For keeps.

  19. I will do everything, in my power, to keep my kids from going through a divorce.

  20. I rarely cry in front of others.  Including my husband.

  21. I am scared to meet new people. (but I’ll talk to anyone)

  22. I have a “shtick” when meeting new people.

  23. I love my address.  Lovers Lane

  24. I love good beer. 

  25. I haven’t been drunk in years. 

  26. I’m gassy.

  27. Potty humor is my favorite.

  28. I cry at my children’s school conferences.

  29. I NEVER had a positive school conference with my parents.

  30. I visited the Principal’s office weekly. (hiding the paddle before he came in)

  31. I flunked out of college my freshman year.

  32. I don’t do Facebook or Twitter and this blog is a HUGE stretch.

  33. I love college football and basketball.

  34. My life changed when I became a Christian.

  35. I got pregnant with our son during my masters program.  He went to school with me the last 6 weeks of my program.

  36. I was 3 months pregnant when I found out.  Hadn’t had my period in over a year.

  37. It took us two years to get pregnant with number 2.  She was colicky.

  38. I’m hard on myself.

  39. I believe in myself.

  40. I am 27% hotter now than at 31.

  41. I have no desire to travel overseas.

Wasn’t that fun!?!?  I expect at least 17 “I Love You”s & 51 “Happy Birthday“s.  And if you feel the need to send a gift, I accept cash & checks made payable to “Hardcore Badass” on Lovers Lane.  😉

Happy weekend and Back-to-School!

*editor’s note:  I GOT A FRICKIN’ GARMIN FOR MY B-DAY!  I’M GOING TO TRULY BE B.A. NOW!!!  THANKS KIDS & HUB!!

15 Comments leave one →
  1. cristy permalink
    August 22, 2010 5:42 am

    YOU ARE AWESOME YOU OLDER-THAN-ME HOTTIE! hope your day is as cheery and fun as you are!

    Cristy

  2. August 22, 2010 10:37 am

    Happy Birthday Sis!!! We will have to have ourselves a SPANKIN’ good time in Manhattan in 13 days!! And dont’ forget we must go to Varney’s for Nike Tempos in KSU logo!!

  3. August 22, 2010 12:21 pm

    I won’t say I love you… cuz we’re not that close. But I do like you. 🙂 And I will say Happy Birthday! Loved your secrets. Knew some of them already, but they were all fun to read. Can you share with me your secret for being 27% hotter sometime? Cuz I’m really needing that. Hope you’re having a fabulous day!! 🙂

  4. August 22, 2010 12:47 pm

    Happy Birthday and just for the record, you were B.A. even before you got a Garmin but that’s a pretty sweet bday gift.

  5. August 22, 2010 2:39 pm

    Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday to you, Happy birthday dear Shana, Happy Birthday to you!
    I cherish you everyday! I loved your last blog but no more crying…just come visit!
    Love,
    A

  6. August 22, 2010 3:39 pm

    Happy birthday. That was a great list to share. I don’t have to write one for mine, which is sadly coming up soon.

  7. August 22, 2010 5:17 pm

    Happy Birthday Shana (I love you)! Is your address seriously on Lover’s Lane?
    I love a good beer too and you definitely do not seem at all phased in meeting new people. 🙂

  8. August 23, 2010 3:29 am

    Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday – Happy Birthday. 51!

  9. August 23, 2010 4:48 pm

    Happy Birthday. I, too, loved your list. Several of them made me laugh out loud with recognition. I, too, laugh at EVERYTHING, on the inside. And, I cry at parent teacher conference (and when my kids make a basket in basketball, or sing in a school program, or I leave them at camp for a week, etc. etc.). Hope your day was wonderful and the coming year is too!

  10. August 23, 2010 6:21 pm

    Awesome present! and love the list! Oh how I love lists…especially of the random assortment

  11. Carrie permalink
    August 24, 2010 7:47 am

    Ok, so since I’ve known you for 20 years, would you accept my “I love you!”? ‘Cause I do, my friend! Hope your day was fantastic, and we should all get together soon for one of those Dark Comedies we were talking about. Run on, B.A.!!!

  12. August 24, 2010 12:16 pm

    Oh F! How can I be late for your birthday??
    HAPPY BIRTHDAY you badass on Lover’s Lane who I love!
    Now go put that new Garmin to work–that sub 2 1/2 is YOURS!

  13. Emily permalink
    August 24, 2010 4:54 pm

    Omgosh. I love this list. Awesome.

    #11 is my favorite.

  14. August 26, 2010 7:24 pm

    Do I get brownie points for the sticker vs. 51 Happy Birthdays???

    I promise, I love you!!

    Glad you had an awesome day!!

    xoxo

  15. Teresa permalink
    August 27, 2010 10:08 pm

    Only met you on our H2Africa crafting weekend, but I am so thankful that I got the chance to meet you and that you are blogging! Reading your blog ALWAYS brings a smile to face. Thanks for sharing and being you. So thankful God brought you into my life even if it is via “technology.”

Leave a Reply

