Skip to content

goodbye. . .again

August 20, 2010
tags: ,

Ugh.  I can’t believe it’s happening, again.   My bestest bestie is moving away from me. . .again!  How dare her!  *waaaaahhhhhhh*tears*gulp*

I’ve shared a little about my bestest bestie before:

bestie and me

Now it’s time to tell all.

Bestie (aka Alicia) and I met in the back seat of a car after going through sorority rush at KSU in the fall of 1987.  No.  It wasn’t some freaky girl-on-girl action.  It was the moment we had been chosen as Gamma Phi Beta’s (or jamma vibrator as my brother called us).  Our new “pledge mom’s” piled our innocent a$$’s in a few cars and drove us to Tuttle Creek for an afternoon of ‘get to know ya’.   Alicia and I were crammed in the middle of two other new ‘sisters’ in the back seat of this beast.  I spouted off some sarcastic comment, she laughed, and it was history.  For the remainder of that semester we were inseparable.  We were both put on academic probation, de-pledged the jamma vibrator’s, and spent all of our energy focusing on each other and our high-school sweethearts (her’s was with her – mine was still in high school).  By the end of the spring semester I had a 1.26 GPA and was asked to leave.  How dare K-State!  Don’t they know that 93.7% of the freshman population spends more time recovering from parties than studying??  Geesh!  Lucky for me, Alicia was also asked to leave.  The only difference – she was from Manhattan – so going home was just, well, going home.   Goodbye Lish!

Fast forward a few years.  Boyfriend and I are both attending a different college (one where they actually know if you are attending class) and Alicia is still in Manhattan.  During many rough times I would call her in the middle of the night and drive 2 hours to her house/apartment to get away, relax and laugh.  Then one day. . . she and her high-school boyfriend got married.  Stupid Carl (as I lovingly refer to him) took Lish to Boulder, Colorado.  WTH?!?!?  Doesn’t he know that doesn’t work for us??   Goodbye Lish!

A year later I graduated from college (with a 2.85 thank you) and drove to Boulder, CO.  I stayed with Lish & Stupid Carl for 1 week – the amount of time I allotted myself to get a job and find a place to live.  It took me 2 days.  Lish and I hooked a u-haul on the back of her 4Runner and drove to KS to get my junk. Then we drove back to CO.  We stayed up all night unpacking my junk and laughing the entire time. 

Over the next couple of years Alicia would drive to my apartment during many rough times and stay until she was all cried out, laughed out, or bored. 

Then one day.  I got engaged and moved back to KS.  Stupid Carl!  Sure it wasn’t his fault, but I’m not going to take the blame for leaving her.  Goodbye Lish.

Well.  Here it comes again. 

On our drive home from CO this week, I received a text from Lish asking if she could call me.  Unfortunately Fortunately we were out of service area to be able to talk.  She dropped the bomb.  They are moving to Florida!  Stupid Carl!  I can’t say I am too surprised.  His family is there.  They have always lived close to Alicia’s family and have spent most holidays with Alicia’s family.  They were lucky if they saw Carl’s mom once a year.  So fine.  It’s good for their family.  But Stupid Carl went and did it again. 

Her kids are thrilled.  My kids are thrilled.  They know that Florida has a lot to offer that Colorado doesn’t. 

I’m sad for me.  What if things get rough again? 

I guess it’s time for us to stay put and deal with it. 

I Love You Alicia!  Things will always be the same no matter how many miles apart we are.

ps – I love Stupid Carl too.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. August 21, 2010 8:19 pm

    Now you made me cry…again…! Going back over all those years…it’s seems like yesterday when you would drive up to my apartment/house with yet another car and we would start laughing, crying, and laughing some more…always right where we left off.
    I can’t wait for you guys to come visit and for me to fly to CO and head to the cabin for another girls weekend. I will miss CO so much but am excited to give FL a chance…not quite convinced yet. Don’t you fly to FL for conferences like once year? If that’s the case than I am so there hanging with you by the pool w/ a marg in my hand…screw the conference!
    You were family from the start and I love you dearly!
    A

  2. August 21, 2010 8:25 pm

    I just noticed when you posted this and can’t believe I didn’t see your it sooner…I check nearly every day but trying to deal with the details of this whole moving thing…crazy! Anyhow…got my blog posted again finally and will do one soon of the house so I am slowly getting back into the groove. Now I just got to get the kiddos (and me) through the first day of school on Monday…so scary…I can only imagine how the kiddos feel especially my new-to-middle schooler…YIKES
    Please pray!!

Leave a Reply

