Skip to content

the trip:

August 17, 2010

I’ve mentioned that I flaked on the ‘girl weekend’ and there’s good reason.

After spending the summer going from swim meet to swim meet, preparing trainings for parents & teachers, and making home visits, I couldn’t take it anymore.  I felt as if I was living in the same house as my husband but only had time to chat for 5 minutes at a time and not feeling like I was ‘giving my all’ – if ya know what I mean *wink*.   In one last-minute move before our kids returned to school and our lives were at the mercy of USD 373 I asked my hott, tall, guy to go with me to CO.  I knew I would be torn once I saw the girls.  I knew I would want to act completely insane, but I also knew my marriage & family needed me more than the girls did.  Now that the weekend is over, I’m confident I made the right decision.  The girls completely understood – I think.  You guys weren’t talking about me behind my back were you?  Is it me that needs lipo?  *gasp*  Anywho . . . we had a great time.  I will completely spare you the *ahem* details, but feel free to e-mail me questions regarding: games to play on a long drive, packing tips, or how to keep the love alive when Aunt Flo shows up unannounced.

We left our house at 7pm on Thursday night.  The drive through western Kansas is very flat and boring.  However, it has one of my favorite things – wind turbines.  They were amazing with the sunset and a thunderstorm behind them:

check out that badboy!

After spending Friday with the girls, my hubs and I drove up a mountain for a short hike to get my lungs acclimated.  We ended up hiking for over an hour and took many pictures:

When I hold the camera his head is HUGE! (that's what she said)

It’s amazing what a guy with really long arms can pull off:

We hiked and hiked.  We saw a spot that we both were considering for a ‘break’.  Lucky for us, and the lady we passed 5 minutes later, we kept walking.   As we were descending we noticed tiny squirrels – the size of hamsters – they would see us and freeze.  This one was making fun of us:

Jerk!

What does that squirrel know?  He lives in the mountains! How dare him make fun of our low lung capacity.

Saturday the hubs & I went to the race – but you knew that. 

After the race we went back to the condo discussing all of the beer and hamburgers I would be digesting.  I was texting a friend back home about areas to visit in Vail since she had just returned.  She suggested a gondola ride and we agreed that would be perfect – mainly because I would be sitting and could still get to the top of a mountain. 

I ate a hamburger and drank beer at the Dam Brewery – and then we drove to Vail.  We thought we were extremely funny for quoting Dumb & Dumber when we both said, “we’re. there.” only to quickly realize they were headed to Aspen in the movie.  uh. duh.  But wait, there’s more!  Because we were so distracted, didn’t know where we were, and my mind was still foggy from the run.  We walked around for a couple of hours, ate an ice cream cone and then it hit us – WE WERE THERE FOR THE GONDOLA RIDE!! uh. duh.  Both of us were too tired to care.  We drove back to the condo where we met up with Aunt Flo & watched Juno – quite possibly my favorite movie. 

Sunday morning we woke up (crying baby again) early and decided to get it together and get home.  Both of us were missing the kids and were ready to sleep in our own bed.  If we were going to be sleeping now, we might as well be comfortable. 

We had good conversation, talking about all of the things we would NEVER discuss in front of our kids.  We stopped to buy gas and tampons.  The kid behind the counter asked me how my day was.  I thought, “I’M IN THE MIDDLE OF NOWHERE BUYING TAMPONS WHILE ON A TRIP WITH MY HUSBAND!!! HOW THE HELL DO YOU THINK MY DAY IS??” I chose to smile instead.  The hubs agreed that was a wise choice considering the poor guy doesn’t make enough money to endure my wrath.  This led us to a discussion of my personal income and how I barely make minimum wage.  We agreed (somewhat jokingly) that I have worked too long for others, it’s time I work for myself!  Certain God was smiling down “Yes my dear child.  Just as Noah sat aside his carpentry skills for song and dance, so should you give up what I’ve called you to do in order to sit around and blog.”  Maybe he wouldn’t say it like that but I’m sure I got an eye roll with that one.  Assuming God rolls his eyes, of course. 

So. . . we drove.  We got home by 6pm and the kids asked what was for dinner by 6:05pm.  Felt good to be back. 

Major brag moment:

My husband is amazing.  He does just about anything for me and rarely has to be asked.  He supports every little idea I have even when it is way out there.  He brings water to me in bed every night.  He makes my coffee every morning.  He is currently cleaning the kitchen while I type.  He is strong and constant and real.  In the 23 years since I first met him he has remained the same – even in his love for me.  I’m pretty sure it is more mature now than in sophomore science, and I love it.  He treats our children with more dignity and respect than I can type.  He honors and loves his own parents in an admirable way.  He provides our family with safety and consistency, even when we drive hours away to run a 1/2 marathon.  I don’t know many men who would listen to women talk about their periods, breasts, and pooping on the run, while quietly recording the experience with a camera. 

A friend jokingly said to me, “If you two ever get divorced I know exactly whose fault it would be!”  She’s no dummy – I don’t deserve this guy.

Up next? “the kids”

10 Comments leave one →
  1. August 17, 2010 4:22 pm

    Ok, I’ll let the girls’ weekend slide this one time, but next time I invite you to a girls’ weekend, you MUST come and save hott guy for some OTHER weekend I didn’t invite you to!! Ok? Ok!! 🙂

    He IS totally the best, I will attest to that first hand. Well, not in an Aunt Flo sort of way but spending some time with him as we watched you race sort of way. You are truly blessed!! I will remind you that next time I get an email from you stating how he’s on your nerves. Ha.

    LOVE YA!!!

    • Shana permalink
      August 17, 2010 4:36 pm

      Thank you. I need all the reminders I can get!
      And, “okay” just us girls next time.

  2. August 17, 2010 7:12 pm

    Great recap of your trip. And I love the part where you honor your husband. He sounds amazing and yes he is lucky but so are you. When your friend said the thing about it being your fault if you divorce, I thought you were going to say that she said she would grab him up if he was single again.

    • Shana permalink
      August 18, 2010 5:51 am

      She is about 30 years older – not that she couldn’t try to grab him, I just think he may see her as his mom. 😉
      and thank you. I can be a PITA so I feel pretty lucky.

  3. August 17, 2010 7:43 pm

    You always make me smile!

    • Shana permalink
      August 18, 2010 5:51 am

      Stop. I’m gonna cry!

  4. August 17, 2010 8:31 pm

    Man, that pick of the windmills and lighting is awesome. Nature is so beautiful; well except for that fucking pyscho squirrel. Who pissed in his corn flakes.

    Anyway, my favorite part of this post is the part about your hubbie. My hubbie is the exact same way and I am so blessed to have him in my life, so I KNOW how you feel!!!

    • Shana permalink
      August 18, 2010 5:52 am

      Yes I’m quite the photographer.
      And that squirrel! I told you he was an ass!

      We are lucky girl.

  5. August 19, 2010 5:09 pm

    jealous of your time together.
    i need some time!!!
    🙂

    brian is a keeper.

Leave a Reply

