Skip to content

more goods

August 12, 2010

Apparently the news just keeps getting better. 

  • After my little “pain-free” run yesterday I finished the day with SEVERE pain in my calves.  No time to ice or stretch, we have packing to do.  Went out to “Run with Me!” this morning and did an easy 1.5 with a friend.  Screaming calves after.  But wait.  There’s more!  I put on my compression socks and headed to kickboxing.  The pain left my legs immediately upon putting on the socks.  No pain through kickboxing.  3 hours later and still pain-free!!  Prepare yourself for my race report because I’ll be wearing these bad babies all 13.1 miles on Saturday morning.   It ain’t pretty, but it sure feels gooooood.

  • Speaking of racing.  I am really pumped to meet up with a few bloggees this weekend.  Many of us will be running the Georgetown to Idaho Springs Half Marathon on Saturday morning.  A few others will be cheering us on.  I can’t wait to meet these gals & reconnect with others.  What started out as a “girls weekend” turned into a little ‘love fest’ for a couple of us.  Sorry gals.  I take the freedom whenever I can get it.  😉

  • On another racing note – I received an e-mail from Allie asking if I am still planning on running Route 66 in November.  Hell yeah!!  Allie and I tried to meet up in Dallas last March but never found one another.  We’re going to give it another try before she moves to Germany in the spring. (I just don’t see me running many races in Germany while they are stationed there)  So excited!  Even making reservations in the same hotel.  If that doesn’t seal the deal, I don’t know what will.  Yay!

Finally, it’s important for many of you to know that most of my family doesn’t read my blog.  My husband and son have no idea what I wrote about yesterday and I’m not sure I’ll tell them.  If you see my son, please allow him some privacy when it comes to his “magical day“.  I’ve considered having him read the blog but it hints to “3 F’s” and I’m not sure I’m willing to go there (ps – Michelle doesn’t read the blog either).  Sure.  I could ask permission to write things but I barely have enough time to type.  If I happen to write a post about you and you want it deleted – edited – or boosted in any way,  just let me know.  Mostly I write to humor myself.  If you don’t like it.  You don’t have to read it.  🙂

Have a ‘magical’ weekend.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. August 12, 2010 9:47 am

    I’m using my compression socks more and more these days. I’m not sure if they help but they definitely don’t hurt. My husband just laughs at me. Glad they are working for you.

    I have the same problem with my own son and blogging. He does read it – sometimes – so I try to be careful with what I say. Sometimes, though, editing is in order for the sake of family peace.

    • Shana permalink
      August 12, 2010 10:37 am

      I totally agree with you Cynthia. Therefore, I have edited my previous blog. Not the part about my son – but the part Michelle said. More for protection of Michelle, her friend who said it to her, and my children finding out that their parents “do it”. 🙂

  2. August 12, 2010 10:18 am

    Woot! Woot! Route 66 in the hiz-ouse!

    I can’t wait, I’m so excited. Oh and I will most definitely be rockin’ compression socks for the half, I do for all my long runs because it keeps my legs feeling so fresh and so clean!! 🙂

    Also, how awesome that we are going to be staying at the same hotel!! Maybe we can carb load together the night before??

    • Shana permalink
      August 12, 2010 10:35 am

      I know! I was thinking that same thing as I made the reservations. “Maybe we can have dinner together!”

      • August 12, 2010 11:56 am

        Sounds awesome, the kids and hubby are going to be with me. Is your family going to be coming as well?

Leave a Reply

