Skip to content

a bit more squirrel . . .

July 29, 2010

The summer is coming to an end much sooner than I would like. 

BigFoot is finishing his swim season – just in time to take a break and start Cross Country.

LittleFoot is leaving for camp – killing me and my heart yet giving my ears a much-needed break from the “MOM?!?!”s that I hear thousands of times a day. Literally.  Thousands**.  Not exaggerating.  Not.

Running is happening, but when it can be ‘fit in’ and that does not make for a great training plan – yet happy to get something in.

My eyebrows are bushy.

My husband is fast.  Drives me nuts!  I’m certain I would be faster if my legs were 6 inches longer.

Need a break from being responsible & using my big-girl voice.

Prefer chocolate Cheerios over a flat belly any day.

If you live in our small county – here are two events I would encourage you to try.  Both are easy, family friendly, and great beginner experiences:  Halstead Bank 2-mile Fun Run & 5K on August 14th and the Newton HS Cross Country 2 mile August 28th HERE for Registration.  Support local communities and athletics.   See you there?

Time for laundry.

Run on!

** on our way to CO – a couple of months ago – I decided to count how many times my LittleFoot would say “Mom?” over the course of 505 miles.  She said it 17 times in the first 5 miles.  I quit counting.  Seriously.  That would have been 1700 total.  I was better off before I knew that number.

4 Comments leave one →
  1. July 29, 2010 9:58 am

    Mom is commonly heard in our house too. Thank goodness for Mother and Mommy to break the angst.

    I know you’ll find time for running once school starts again and life becomes a bit more “normal”. It is hard with kids around all the time.

    • Shana permalink
      July 29, 2010 10:06 am

      Yes. I’m sure I will miss the ‘mom’ and having them in my face. But running without wondering what they are up to will be nice.

  2. July 29, 2010 1:01 pm

    Say hi to CO for us! Are you going to the cabin? Have fun!!

    • Shana permalink
      August 2, 2010 12:21 pm

      we are in KS silly lady.

Leave a Reply

