Skip to content

I DO NOT

July 20, 2010

When I have a few minutes I like to stalk judge read other running blogs to see what folks are up to.  Some are funny HERE, some are gross HERE, some are the shizzle HERE, some are hard-core HERE and some make me think “I would stop running if that ever happened to me!” HERE  but most have something in common – they like to run.  Yes, yes, I know – I run and I too have a ‘running’ blog however I DO NOT like to run.  *gasp* It’s true.  How could it be so? 

  1. I DO NOT like to run, the physical act of it – I DO like how it makes me feel.  No other form of exercise keeps me feeling the way I do mentally and physically as a run does.   I’ve tried just about every form of exercise there is and running is the only one that ‘does it’ for me.  So, if I have to be fit (which I believe we do) – I pick running.  There’s nothing else like it.
  2. I DO NOT like running with my husband – I DO like him.  He is tall and fast and happy – everything I HATE in a running partner.  But he’s a super life-partner and I choose him to be the guy who runs around me if there is going to be one.
  3. I DO NOT like the taste of GU’s & sports drinks – I DO like life.  These are the things that sustain me and keep me moving forward. 
  4. I DO NOT like the sound of running – I LOVE listening to music LOUD when I run.
  5. I DO NOT like following training plans  – I DO like the results they give me.  BUUUUUT – I see them as flexible and fluid and that my old body knows what it needs and I am fairly certain (yet to be proven) missing a workout here and there will not make my running world stop.  (btw – I was totally out of control in school – didn’t listen to anyone there either and *I turned out okay*)
  6. I DO NOT like to be sick.  Our son’s swim coach said to me, “He needs to swim hard enough to feel like he’s going to be sick!” (half-joking) and I said, “If he ever gets sick, then I can no longer attend the meets!” 🙂  I have no “I DO like…” part to this.  Barf = stop in my mind.   
  7. I DO NOT like whining. “I can’t ______.”   I DO like to complain – negative bragging.  “My legs were so sore after my 15 mile run. UGH!” 😉
  8. I DO NOT like to be still.  (funny – I used to have a blog called “Be still…” back in the day) I DO like to be involved and help. 
  9. I DO NOT like to get up early.  I DO like the moment during my early morning run when the ‘lights come on’ –  the moment when the sun breaks the horizon.  Perfection.
  10. I DO NOT like to be drunk or out-of-control in any form.  I DO L.O.V.E. beer.  The good kind. 

I guess what I’m getting at is, life isn’t easy.  I pick what I do based on the results I receive.  If I continue to get negative results but keep doing the same thing then I either need to change how I am doing it, or what I am doing.  I have another list about 10x’s as long and it is of things I refuse to do.  Not because “I can’t. . .” but because “I won’t. . .” – either they are not healthy, they don’t help, or they have proven to be harmful to me in the past (peach schnapps anyone?).  You decide.  Do something that hurts for a while in order to make you a better YOU or sit around and whine “I can’t _____.” 

That does it – for now.  I have work to do and a child that is being quiet. 

Gotta Run!

**geeze – where’d that all come from??    Tuesday – Parenting Class happiness.  Only two more weeks to go**

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 20, 2010 1:21 pm

    Funny stuff. I think you love it more than you think. If you truly hated it, you’d stop. Glad I could provide you an example of pure running lunacy!

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 20, 2010 1:25 pm

      hahaha – I almost cut you off my blog list for that one!
      had to tip-toe back into it to make sure there were no more barf references. 🙂

  2. July 20, 2010 1:35 pm

    Gross? Me? C’mon.

    I don’t like whining either, hence the Shut Up and Run title. I’m never still. I love beer. Yes, we have a lot in common, but we already knew that.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 20, 2010 1:41 pm

      and I picked a fairly *safe* post to reference!

  3. July 20, 2010 1:42 pm

    Interesting that you do not like to run. My wife does not like to run either and in fact is moving to triathlons because she enjoys the “acts” of swimming and biking substantially more.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 20, 2010 1:52 pm

      I’m paying close attention to Lady J’s training and pretending I’m her when I’m on my bike.

  4. July 20, 2010 4:22 pm

    i love you girlie.
    🙂
    I DO.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 20, 2010 4:34 pm

      I DO NOT… ha ha ha – had you going!
      Love you back my super-tan-friend.

Leave a Reply

