Skip to content

inside and out

July 19, 2010

The new group “Run With Me!” has brought out many gals and a few questions about shoes, clothing, eating, and running.  I figure this blog thing is the best way to bare it all!

Starting on the outside at my feet and working my way up:

Socks –

Belega or WrightSock both sold HERE online or FirstGear in Wichita. I prefer to be blister-free.  Most running socks will make this claim but these are the two I love for comfort, dryness, and fit.  Please note: in the current weather I am getting blisters regardless of what sock I’m wearing.  Something about shoes full of sweat that causes a bit of friction.  

Shoes –

I L.O.V.E. BROOKS!  Love them.  I would marry them if I could.  I have run in just about every brand and my current love affair is with the Brooks Ravenna sold HERE

Womens Brooks Ravenna Running Shoe

However I have a pair of these waiting for me in the closet:

Womens Brooks Glycerin 8 Running Shoe

Isn’t she purdy?  I bought these purely based on marketing and am hoping they live up to the hype.  If not, I will be sad.**

Shorts:

Nike Tempo Track Shorts:

Womens Nike Tempo Track Lined Shorts

Please don’t ever pay full price for these babies!  You can typically find them on sale.  Do an on-line search for sales.  The colors quickly go in and out of style which means something is being discontinued somewhere.

Tops:

Anything that doesn’t chafe my pits – keeps its shape – doesn’t stain – is made of ‘wicking’ fabric (keeping me cool) – makes me look more hard-core than I am.  I still haven’t found the perfect shirt.  Maybe because I rip them off half-way through a long run.  Maybe because I am constantly using them to dry my face.  Maybe because the “good” ones are WAY too expensive. 

Lately I’ve been running in the Nike dry-fit tank.  It won’t last long. I can tell already.

Under the shirt:

I do love this bra.  Initially I was not impressed.  Can’t remember why.  But now, I would like 4 more.  They are currently on sale HERE and are perfect for a A-B cup.  If you are blessed with a more full cup I encourage you to look HERE or HERE for great bras.  

On top of my head:  I prefer my Brooks hat sold HERE over any of the others I have during the summer.  However, during the winter I wear a stocking cap and have about 10 I rotate. 

On my arm is a simple Timex Ironman watch.  Until last week I was saving and dreaming for a Garmin however recently downloaded a free app on my phone:  endomondo.  Ran with her on my long run Saturday and it was PERFECT!  And FREE!  It shows time, pace, distance (w/ GPS), average time, estimated finish time, and sends my results to my computer so that I instantly have what I need.  Did I mention it is FREE!?!?!?  Seriously.  I had been saving for a Garmin for months.  Now I can spend that money on something better – like an arm-band for my phone because that is where my new FREE app is held.  The lovely voice on endomondo even gently talks over the music so you can still keep pace while listening to your favorite tunes.  I love her!  She has already been named “Endi”.   www.endomondo.com its FREE! 

On my face:

OpticNerve sunglasses sold HERE & sunblock!  I don’t care what brand you use or how you apply it – just get it on your face!!  I prefer coppertone sport primarily because of the scent.  I love the scent of coppertone – reminds me of my childhood and going to the lake.  Do you have a better reason to choose a brand?!?!  Of course it doesn’t run in my eyes or rub off either.  That helps.

A LOT of BodyGlide sold HERE and at most major sporting goods stores such as DICKS and SportsAuthority.  I’ve never seen it on sale – and I DON’T CARE!  If you have never had chafing ‘down below’, you wouldn’t understand the importance of paying full retail for such a thing.

After the run I am sporting both of these:

Womens CEP Running O2 Compression Sock

The towel is typically soaked in ice water & then wrapped around my neck (during the summer months) and are sold HERE or by clicking the icon in the sidebar.  The socks are slipped on after a long run and a shower. 

That sums up what is going ON this MotherRunner.  Now lets look at what is going IN –

1 hour before a long run – Advil, coffee, and water

45 minutes before a long run – clif bar/banana/pb toast, water

15-30 minutes before & as needed during.

Hammer Nutrition HEED Electrolyte Drink 32 svg Nutrition

and

GU 6 Pk Nutrition

After a long run – CHOCOLATE MILK, more water, and Pepto.

Until this moment, I never realized how much energy it has taken me to get ready for each of my long runs.  Weird.  I’m sure I’m missing something.

You may have noticed, most of these items can be purchased at RoadRunnerSports.com.  I use them to buy about 90% of my running gear and nutrition.  If you pay $1.99 you become a VIP and get great discounts on EVERYTHING! plus FREE shipping. 

Run on Friends!

** I do not encourage buying running shoes based on hype alone.  Visit a local running store and get fit by someone who knows what the heck they are doing.  See if they have a guarantee & return policy that allows you to take them back if you have problems with the shoes.  Shoes are the most expensive and most important part of your exercise – make sure they are perfect for you!

PS – I get fitted by a local store and then order from RoadRunnerSports for the discount.  Typically I buy locally, but hard to do when I’m saving $20-50!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jenny permalink
    July 19, 2010 8:47 am

    Hi! I follow your blog but never really commented. Why the switch from the Ravenna to Glycerin? Being a Brooks Lover myself, I know that Ravennas are a guidance shoe for slight overpronation and the Glycerin is a neutral shoe. Did your footstrike change? I’m just curious to why the shoe change.

    Thanks!
    Jenny

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 19, 2010 8:52 am

      BUSTED! Great question.
      My foot strike has not changed – much.
      I’m a slight overpronator however can get by with a neutral shoe. I have average arches and am finding out that as I increase speed, the cushioning is becoming more important for my joints. I’m guessing because of a quicker turn-over.
      Either way, I may be singing a different song once I start running in them regularly. I’ve done a few test runs on the ‘mill for fun and they feel great, but they haven’t touched a street yet.

      • Jenny permalink
        July 19, 2010 9:31 am

        Thanks for a great answer! I look forward to seeing what you think about them. I run in the Ghost and Defyance. I feel like the Glycerin is a little too cushioned for me just after trying them on, so I’m nervous to take the plunge and purchase them even though they sound like a great shoe.

  2. July 20, 2010 9:16 am

    I am a Dyfiance lover myself! ;o)

  3. Emily permalink
    July 20, 2010 11:57 am

    I love this post. I love to train in my tempo shorts but run in tights?! Weird. I NEED some compression socks though. Been putting that off for way too long.

    Run on!!

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 20, 2010 12:09 pm

      best $60 I’ve spent. buy the socks!

Leave a Reply

