Skip to content

running update

July 11, 2010

Ah, man!  It’s been tough out there. 

This last week was full of anger, nausea, aches, pains, and exhaustion.  But every last workout was complete! 

Anger – my happy husband seems entertained when waking me at 5am for a run.  He has big smiles and I want to punch him in the face!  Instead, I run really fast – as if I could leave my 6’5″ husband in the dust.  Wow.  I’m really showing him!

Nausea – weird stuff man.  Pretty sure it’s all the works of my girl parts – considering last weekend I believe I may have endured my first two hot flashes!  Yep.  That’s right.  I sent a text to my SIL (who I make fun of during hot flashes) and she was more than THRILLED to throw some heat back.

Aches – major calf issues.  Cut one run a mile short due to severe stiffness and cramping.

Pains – I can’t stand to miss a workout.  It’s not because I have OCD.  It’s not. It’s not. It’s not.  But because I have a goal.  Typically missing a workout is cause for celebration or at least a beer – or maybe those are to blame for missing a workout.  Either way, it causes me mental pain at this point.

Exhaustion – 7.5 hours of sleep over the course of 2 nights does not make this mommy easy to live with.  Do I tell my kids “Shut up or I’ll beat their ass!”? No.  I just give a lot of huffy breaths and shorter answers.   I’ve heard that some folks nap.  I’ve tried.  Maybe I’ll try again.  Whatever.  I’m tired.

So that’s the break-down.  29 miles this week.  Pain in the a$$ mommy.  One step closer to breaking my PR.

Run on Friends!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. July 11, 2010 1:41 pm

    Wow, you’re determined! Good for you on getting the workouts in even though you are exhausted. You really should get some rest though, doctor’s orders!
    I’m not a doctor but I play one on tv.

  2. July 11, 2010 5:54 pm

    Good job getting your workouts in, even though you are tired! If you can’t nap, I hear beer helps 😉

  3. July 11, 2010 7:24 pm

    I am experiencing growing exhaustion as the week goes on as well. Must be the training. Hopefully we’ll adapt. Nice job!

Leave a Reply

