Skip to content

good start

July 8, 2010

Maybe you’ve noticed.  That page up there in the corner that says “Run with Me!”.  Maybe you haven’t and this is the first you are hearing of this.  Regardless, today was the first day.  The day that women of Harvey County started coming together to – get in shape, take time for themselves, reach goals, step out and meet other moms, or walk around the track in the middle of high school boys and girls who are conditioning for fall sports.   The latter of those ringing most true this morning.

For many years I have believed there were more moms than me that wanted a clear brain to be able to function.  Now we know there are at least 2 more (holla!). 🙂 

We started at the high school track.  Me – ill-equipped to ‘lead’ others.  My plans for guiding and supporting were nipped in the bud by two things:  1.) a late night hanging out with friends and 2.) ignoring all of my dreamy thoughts when I saw SisterRunner and a swim-team-mom-friend (knowing they both knew my screwy ways & wouldn’t expect much) on the track.  Not that they don’t deserve the support and guidance – they just get ‘me‘ most of the time. 

All in all, our first day out went very well – minus 60 high school football players taking up most of the track and staring at us like we were crazy.   We walked and talked.  We discussed the difficulties of supporting friends and the choices they make when we know there is a road of suffering ahead.  We talked about buying houses and how that choice alone can cause more stress.  We talked about what we are doing for the weekend.  Then we left right as the pimply boys began their wind-sprints.  Certain they are NOT discussing any of those topics. 

As we grabbed our keys, I was reminded that I had thoughtfully picked out (as I ran out the door in a rush) a bible verse to support us through the next week.  One we could contemplate and discuss.   Whatever you do, work at it with all your heart, as working for the Lord, not for men.  Col. 3:23-25

I drove home thinking about how perfect that verse was for what we were discussing:  There will be days when you no longer want to be with your husband – work in your marriage for Him.  There will be days when disciplining your children will be exhausting – discipline for Him.  There will be days when you desire a bigger, beautiful, newer home – humbly accept what has been given for Him.   No matter what I am doing – doing so for God somehow seems easier than when I am doing something for me, for a random stranger who is watching, or for the Jones’ who ‘seem‘ to have it all together**.   For this next week, I am going to focus on the joy in what I have been given and allow my works to be done for HIM. 

Run on Friends!

**no specific Jones’ were thought of in the writing of this post. sorry your name gets such a bad rap.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 8, 2010 7:48 am

    Love that last paragraph! So true. I gotta keep reminding myself I’m never given things I cannot handle and its just matter of finding the strength to overcome!!
    Glad you found some good bonding time 🙂

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 8, 2010 7:54 am

      YES!
      He holds the power – but we hold the key.

  2. July 8, 2010 7:55 am

    And here I was going to thank you for thinking that we have it all together. Then I read the last line. Dang.

    p.s. Kristi gave me a notepad that says, “Don’t try to keep up with the Jones’. Drag them down to your level.” 🙂

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 8, 2010 7:57 am

      hahahaha – I Love That!!

  3. July 8, 2010 8:04 am

    Great Morning “chat session”!! Can’t wait until Saturday session, unless I am still 3 sheets to the wind from Friday night. :o)

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 8, 2010 10:00 am

      sleep in.
      i’ll be at a swim meet.

  4. July 8, 2010 1:06 pm

    I like this post!!! There are so much bigger things than us!

Leave a Reply

