Skip to content

barefoot running

June 30, 2010

I have been reading about ‘barefoot running’ a lot lately.  You know, taking your shoes off and actually pounding the pavement?  To be quite honest, I have thought “horse sh!t!” when I read of the benefits.  Stay with me – don’t get your panties in a bunch – I think some things are great for some people.  For example, I don’t have an artsy craft (which I believed was a requirement as a mom in my early years).  I tried all of them – scrapbooking, photography, writing (that was a funny one), stamping (one time), sewing (I’m good-just bored), decorating, fashion, etc., etc., etc..  I’m exhausted with the memories of the hours spent.  Same goes with how each of us run: cushioned, stability, neutral, or barefoot.  We gotta give it all a whirl to see who we really are – who our feet were destined to be.   Finding our passion and comfort is what makes us individual and unique.  So, just like crafting, I quickly decided to give this barefoot thing a whirl.

Let me set the scene:  Our son has been taking care of the neighbors’ dog while they vacation in Colorado (i love you CO – call me!).  He goes over a few times a day and lets the little thing out to run around and do her business.  The family mentioned that she can stay out a few hours in the evening to play – we just need to remember to put her back in at night.  This led us to believe she would be safe to leave out while we went to a swim meet. 

When we returned at MIDNIGHT we remembered sweet little Chloe and how scared she must be alone in her backyard.  BigFoot and I walked over to put her in the house and she’s GONE!  No way!  I have never seen this dog so I don’t know what I’m looking for – other than a dog.  We search everywhere for the girl.  Finally giving up around 1:00am. 

This morning FatherRunner and I discuss a plan of action for finding Chloe & informing our neighbors that we have LOST their family pet. He jokingly says, “I’ll drive by their house – just in case.” 20 seconds later the phone rings “SHE’S IN THE DRIVEWAY – GET OVER HERE NOW!”  I’m sitting in my pajamas and am barefoot.  I actually have a split second decision to make – search for shoes? or go barefoot?  I chose the barefoot route only because I want to see what all the hub-bub is about (even searching for the neighbors’ dog provokes a running thought) Out the door – ouch! ouch! ouch! what the hell? who does this? this sucks! i HATE being barefoot! that damn dog better come to me because i’m not chasing her with no shoes on! what are the benefits? my gate is definitely different – maybe there is something to this. OUCH! what was that? crap. i don’t see her! ugh – should have grabbed my shoes! stupid pebbles – what is that road cleaner for?!?!? finally – grass! aaaaahhhhhh… 

I have to admit.  It wasn’t too bad.  But it wasn’t for me.  In those 2 short blocks I was crazy focused on everything underfoot.  Made my head hurt.  Made my FEET hurt.  I grew up on a farm and spent many nights digging stickers out of the soles of my feet so the mere thought of going without shoes for too long makes me cringe.  Heck, I wear shoes IN my house! 

So. There ya go.  I gave it an effort.  Maybe not the serious effort others are giving (Jamoosh & MCM Mama) but it was an effort and I’m counting it.  The biggest lesson learned on my short run??  I no longer need a jog-bra. Hmm.

Oh!  The little dog?  She’s fine.  In her kennel sleeping now. Phew!

Run on my barefoot friends!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. June 30, 2010 8:39 am

    I can picture this little jog this morning, :o) Writing? I didn’t know that. Do you have something to read? We may have something else in common. (forewarned- no one but Cody knows about this)

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 30, 2010 8:44 am

      nothing to read. i’m an idiot at writing – it was all over the place. just like my thoughts.

  2. June 30, 2010 9:14 pm

    Thanks for the laugh…I needed that. We miss CO a bit now too…but only a bit and only for a bit. We will enjoy FL for awhile. Come and visit…really…we have lots of room!!! REALLY!!!

  3. July 2, 2010 6:15 pm

    I’ve been running with a boy from the school who is autistic…liability issues and whatnot crossing the streets and whatnot. That aside, I was talking with the cc coach and he told me he is going to start doing the drills for the team barefoot. HUH? I can’t get into it. I think my heel would scream in agony more than it already does, and that’s a lot some days. Glad the puppy is safe :).

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 3, 2010 6:51 am

      I feel an unsafe fad coming on. But I don’t really know anything. 🙂

  4. July 7, 2010 11:30 am

    At least you can say you tried and it’s not for you. I honestly don’t believe barefoot is for everyone for mental and physical reasons. There’s a bazillion different types of running footwear out there; barefoot is just another one.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      July 7, 2010 11:35 am

      Yeah. Not sure we can say it was an actual effort on my part – probably that ‘mental’ reason you mentioned.

Leave a Reply

