Skip to content

mile 3

June 23, 2010

Even though the temp was 79° at 5:50 this morning, the humidity was only 60%!  It felt so much cooler and I didn’t have to swim home in a pool of my own sweat. 

As I mentioned in my last post, JILL made my training plan for PR shattering my 1/2 marathon in August.  I believe I also mentioned that I was having a hard time waking up.  However, that is not the only hard part of this new training.  It’s the dump factor!   Okay, so the training plan doesn’t say “wake up at the butt-crack of dawn” to get your workout in, however who are we kidding?  Who thinks I’m really going to do this when the heat index is hitting 105°?  And though I love my treadmill, it doesn’t exactly mimic outdoor conditions.  Sooooo. . . what I’m trying to say is, I have to POOP when I run this early!!

Sure we all deserve a nice healthy release at least once a day.  I’m pretty regular when it comes to this.  Right around 6:30am.  Now known as “mile 3“.   This is not good.  You see, “mile 3” is no where near my house or my comfortable bathroom.  The good news is, FatherRunner and I have come to love running at the H.S. track because there are bathrooms with air conditioning.

Let’s recap today’s workout.   1 mile warm-up (exactly 1 mile to track from our house).  3 x 1 mile at 10k pace (at H.S. track).  1 mile cool-down (run back home).  Left the house feeling better than yesterday (when I was sure I would need to jump in the bushes at the 1/2 mile mark).  Nice easy mile to the track.  First pace mile at 10k pace = 8:42 (tad slow).  Second pace mile (aka mile 3) = lap 2 I feel the ‘urge’ – by the 4th lap I look at my sweet husband and sayI GOTTA GO!” and dart into the H.S.  There is a table of summer school students looking at me with fear in their eyes and pot on their breath.  Find the toilet, finish my business, get back outside = 8:28 (before break).  Third pace mile = 8:32 (right on pace).  Easy mile home and feel lighter than ever. 

My friend BETH at Shut up and RUN! knows all about these feelings.  In fact, I believe her to be an expert in this area.  Maybe she has some tips on mid-run breaks that I could use.   Regardless, I’m done for the day and ready to conquer the sweet note my daughter left for me in the middle of the night:

“Dear Mom,  Can you please make me baken for breakfeast? Thanks!”

Public education at it’s finest.  

Run on Friends! (and carry t.p.)

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 23, 2010 7:17 am

    Baken for breakfast!! Child after my own heart. She is going to rock that spelling bee!!!

    I may be a poop expert, but I have not yet perfected the art. I have, however, gotten very comfortable going under bridges and in bushes b/c it is better than the alternative.

    Glad there was a H.S. at mile 3. Total lifesaver.

    Move your butt back to CO and leave that humidity behind.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 23, 2010 7:40 am

      don’t forget break’feast’. too funny.

      okay – i’ll move back.

  2. June 23, 2010 2:57 pm

    i am sweating.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 23, 2010 3:07 pm

      knew you would. 🙂

Leave a Reply

