Skip to content

speedwork = monkey wrench

June 21, 2010

Last week I started my training plan for my next half – Georgetown to Idaho Springs – in August.   My friend JILL made my training plan for me and it ROCKS!  For years I’ve followed Hal Higdon’s training plans.  Though they were sufficient for getting me across the finish line (which was my goal) they weren’t doing anything for my desire to speed it up.   Jill’s plan has me doing speedwork, tempos, easy miles, drills, and long-runs (of course).    This plan is just what an ADD runner needs – VARIETY! 

Last week’s training went off without any problem – other than the heat and humidity thing.   Today, however, I’ve already become a B.U.M.!!    I missed my morning speedwork at the track and had to complete it on the treadmill.  I don’t mind the treadmill, and the temperature in my house is much more pleasant than outside, I was just letting myself down.    I made an agreement with myself that I would do ALL of my workouts outside and that I would get up early to get them over with.  So, I’m four days into training and already dropping the proverbial ball.  This is the hardest work of all.  The work that demands I use mental strength and a belief in myself.  

Everyone has a ‘thing’ that holds them back.  Wheather it’s the recording of your parents/teachers/caregivers playing in your head that you’re “not good enough” ~ “not pretty enough” ~ “not smart enough” ~ or something that you decided on your own based on a negative experience.   But what about the experiences we have that tell us “you are enough!”~ “you are PERFECT!”~ “you are HIS!” ~ “you are brilliant!” ~ “you can DO IT! ~ ???  I know I’ve mentioned all of this before – maybe because I don’t have this managed yet I feel the need to repeat myself.  I believe it will always be a struggle for me to keep focus on what I’m capable of.  So. . I have a new mantra – at least for today – that played over and over as I did my workout this morning.  It sounded like this:

“YOU’VE GOT THIS!”

I loved it.  I counted out my 7 x 800s with ease.  Not quite super ease – I burped during my 3rd 800 – it smelled like barf and made me want to barf.  I stumbled and almost lost it during my 5th 800 – certain I would do a face plant – but recovered.  Aren’t those great examples of life?  Sometimes what comes out of my mouth is SICK!  Sometimes I stumble but I’m able to catch myself and recover.   No matter what – I’m going to keep moving forward and find the strength I need to improve.

Because my workout was moved into the basement I had some ‘motivational’ music playing on TV.   If you’ve followed me for a while you may remember that Rob Thomas got me through many winter runs on the ‘mill.  Rob, however, doesn’t do a thing for me when it comes to speedwork.  In fact, Rob has been removed from my running play-list!!  *gasp!* 

THIS is where the love’s at now:

Dave Grohl and Taylor Hawkins brought me home on that last 800 and kept me going through my 1/2 mile cool-down.  Not a bad pace running to that. (the link is bad – buy the LIVE DVD – you won’t be sorry)

Run on Friends!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 21, 2010 12:15 pm

    Oooo, I love it that my name is in PINK! I must get more pink in my running attire, I feel pink-less lately. Pink always lifts my spirits and mood, but lately I’ve been too blah to incorporate it, I feel unworthy of pink. Let the pink begin!!!

    You’re going to do great on this new plan. Anyone that can run through a barf burp can run a sub-2 half!!
    xoxo

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 21, 2010 12:22 pm

      there’s a reason you are pink. 🙂

  2. June 21, 2010 12:16 pm

    And that’s TOO, not to. Yikes!

  3. SS Mother Runner permalink
    June 21, 2010 12:22 pm

    there’s a reason you are pink! 🙂

Leave a Reply

