Skip to content

too much?

June 19, 2010

Just how much heat is too much?

Since our run today – I have felt mildly nauseas.  ALL DAY.

Not because of running – but because of the frickin’ heat and humidity

I’ve bragged/exaggerated the intensity all day – but seriously – it was 78° and 86% humidity when we left our house at 5:50am

The first mile felt so painful.  I talked a lot about Advil and the benefits of pre-run medicating.  The second mile was better but we were now running due east and the sun was blinding.  Luckily I brought my new shades and FatherRunner opted to leave his at home thinking he’d be “fine without them“.  dork.  The third mile included two serious ‘hills‘ – an overpass and a slow climb to the intersection.  My mind started playing games about where we were and how far we had gone.  I was convinced we had only gone 3 miles but that it took us 33:45 minutes!  The last time I ran this route it took me 27 minutes to that corner. . .  Anyway, the next mile was mostly shaded – but again, uphill?  Where did these ‘hills‘ come from?  Was it the heat?  Was it the humidity?  I was confused. 

Regardless, we finished our 7 mile run in 1:08:24.  Got home – mapped the route – and found out that we had a good pace the entire distance, that my math was WAY off, and that no amount of hydration before or after seemed to help stop the sweat.  I was still soaked 3 hours later when I finally decided to take a shower and put myself out of misery with those wonderful Advil (remind me to buy stock) and drink more water

Now it’s time for beer.  Which I don’t believe there could ever be too much of.

Run cool!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 19, 2010 8:15 pm

    yeah, the heat and humidity has been brutal! Its gonna be a long summer for running if this keep up! But BEER sounds good and me thinks we need to stock up!

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 20, 2010 6:33 am

      The “Moon” series of beer is my favorite – BlueMoon, PaleMoon, HoneyMoon. With a cold orange wedge. mmmmmm…

  2. June 19, 2010 8:37 pm

    I’d also take stock in beer this summer.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 20, 2010 6:33 am

      yeah. well – i think i just drank my stock. 🙂

  3. June 20, 2010 5:40 pm

    that sounds brutal.
    at least you let me stop and walk. 🙂
    i bet brian never lets you stop.
    but also….i bet you never want to.
    how in the heck are you so driven?
    i wish i had just a bit of that….

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 21, 2010 10:29 am

      i wanted to stop about 1/4 mile into it! it was awful. but it is over. 🙂
      you have a TON of that – it just comes out in a different form – “Craft Thursday”!!

Leave a Reply

