Skip to content

Comfort food

June 17, 2010

Must share – because I’m a giver.

I believe I have mentioned that I like to cook.  Maybe once or twice.  Well, there are moments when I nail it.  Last night was one of those moments. 

On the menu was Chicken Toes – so good – but take more time and make more mess than I was willing to endure.  So FatherRunner fired up the grill for the chicken that had been thawed and I proceeded to out-do myself in the kitchen. 

Many of our meals have focused on something ‘soft’ lately due to BigFoot’s new braces and the pain they are causing.  Because the boy loves mashed potatoes I thought I would help they guy out.  While the potatoes were boiling I decided to make my mashed potatoes I would use low-fat cream cheese and butter to give the potatoes a creamy texture.  Boil, boil, boil. Smash, smash, smash.  Blend, blend, blend.  Then I added about a 1/4 cup skim milk for even a smoother texture.  Sure, this is what everyone does.  HOWEVER – I decide to dump a bunch of season salt, garlic salt (both Lowry’s) and fresh ground pepper.  OMG!!  These babies were so good.  I made enough for 8 and there were no leftovers. 

But wait. There’s more.  Still the chicken is grilling (in a little lime marinade).  So I sauteed some grape tomatoes.  Yum-O!  Heat some olive oil in a skillet on medium heat (1-2T).  Halve the tomatoes.  Toss tomatoes into oil.  Pour in 2-3T balsamic vinegar.  Sprinkle 1-2T of brown sugar (I did about 1T of dark).  Saute’ together until the juice is carmelized and the tomatoes are starting to brown. 

Once everything was done we piled the chicken on the potatoes and the tomatoes on the chicken – then drizzled with the left-over vinegar sauce.  Oh my.  There was not a bit of food left. 

Now – I make a lot of stuff up from other recipes – adding and removing ingredients.  I don’t claim anything to be an original – because there is probably something out there just like it.  If not – yay me!

Eat up my carbo-loading friends!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. June 17, 2010 2:37 pm

    Yay you!!! That sounds real yummy!

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 17, 2010 3:54 pm

      We are all still talking about it.

  2. June 17, 2010 3:33 pm

    I started my oven on fire last night. Literally. I did mention I was a horrible cook, didn’t I??

    Hope day 1 of training is going well :).

    HUGS!

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 17, 2010 3:55 pm

      NO! Not an oven FIRE!!
      Oh. my.
      Maybe I can send you a training program for cooking. 🙂

Leave a Reply

