Skip to content

Cousin Runner +

June 15, 2010

The best weekend we’ve had in years started with a visit by CousinRunner and his family – along with SeattleCousin and his family.  OMG! What a great time.  Because I don’t think – I didn’t take pictures of our first night together.  It tends to distract me from what is going on and I really don’t need anymore distractions.  So that’s my story.

The kids loved getting to know each other – which means CousinRunner’s daughter spent every night with us – being the same age as LittleFoot – it was perfect.   We were all preparing for our other cousin’s wedding (more on that in another post).

Saturday morning – before the wedding – CousinRunner came to pick up his little gal and to go for a run in our lovely small town.  The humidity gods were smiling wide on us as we made our way down the rape bike path.  Since I always have my phone with me – I took a picture of my big-tall-man and my cousin:

The hubs thought it would be fun to take a picture of CR and me:

What the heck is up with my left foot??  Well, funny you should ask.  CousinRunner has also noticed that in 1/2 of my pictures my left foot is flailing about without much control.  To find the answer, we have to go back to 1978 – the year of the ‘break’. 

Maybe I’ve shared – maybe I haven’t – who cares, here’s the story.  I grew up on a farm with horses, cows, and a lot of wheat.  When I was 8 years old I started showing quarter horses.  We drove all over the state and surrounding states to show our madd skillz.  Being so young, I really didn’t have a lot of experience in handling a horse that could kill me, so the following summer (when I was 9) I attended a week-long-sleep-away-horse-camp.  Don’t worry, it was about 20 miles from home – my brother was there, and most of the kids I knew from showing.  On the first morning of the camp, my horse – Cassie  – got stung by a bee.  Right on the hiney!!  OUCH!  She bucked around like crazy – I held on tight.  She calmed and we started out again.  Well, either she wasn’t finished going bonkers or that bee was back for more, because that little mare kicked her hind legs so high that I flew over her head and landed flat on my back – knocked out and legs going every which way!  

Awwww. . . I feel you flinching in worry.  Don’t worry.  I was fine – other than that leg issue.   My left leg was broken – in 4 places!  My femur – my tibia – my fibula – and my ankle.  So dear old Dr. Anderson did what he could with a screaming, shock- filled 9-year-old.  He slapped some plaster on my leg – toes to hip & sent me home with pain killers.  

I still refer to that summer as “the worst eight weeks of my life”.  Not only could I not show my horse, I couldn’t go to the pool or hang out in the field.  I had to sleep on the floor of the living room.  I had to be carried to the bathroom.  I had to wrap trash bags and bread bags around my cast to get a bath.  The boy I liked didn’t like me anymore because I was broken.  It was the suckiest summer – but we didn’t have any idea what that cast would do to my ‘form‘.  That Dr. Anderson put the cast on my leg straight but when he got to the ankle he gave it a little ‘twist’ that turned my foot out.  To this day, when I stand straight my left foot points to 10:00.  Great stuff in the world of party tricks.   

want to know a secret?  until that day, I was the 2nd fastest kid in our class!  that’s right – I could have been an Olympian – or at least the 2nd fastest kid in a class of 16.  

I’ve worked hard to try to manage it and keep it straight, but it has caused injuries in other parts of my body.  So. . .we just have to look at a freaky leg thing – 50% of the time.  🙂

Now, back to that CousinRunner.  Saturday night it rained and rained and rained – that creek was full.  Some of our town flooded. Never, in the 16 years we have lived here, has the creek gotten that high.  weird.   It had nothing to do with CousinRunner – but I thought he should know.

Run on! 

6 Comments leave one →
  1. June 15, 2010 8:18 pm

    your horse’s name was cassie?
    no wonder you like me! 🙂
    (or maybe you hate me…since she broke your leg in 4 places!)

    • SS runs permalink
      June 15, 2010 8:21 pm

      it took me forever to remember her name – but when I did, I smiled – BIG! 🙂

  2. June 15, 2010 11:12 pm

    Wow! What a story about your poor leg!!! Nowadays, people would sue the good ole doc, since you were on your way to being some superstar Olympian…but I think it makes you that much more special!
    xo

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 16, 2010 4:47 am

      It sure makes me something. 🙂

  3. June 17, 2010 9:36 pm

    that is AWFUL!!
    think of that happening to LF right now….UGH.
    i can’t believe that happened to you.

    • SS Mother Runner permalink
      June 18, 2010 6:13 am

      i hope we would be more sympathetic.
      i think my parents did the best they could with harvest & all, but living in the country was LONE-LY!!

Leave a Reply

