Skip to content

I forgot.

June 9, 2010

I’m a terrible mom!  I meant to brag about my awesome son last week and I forgot!  Not that his BolderBoulder experience wasn’t enough. . .

The morning after we returned from Colorado I took our son to swim practice (at 7am!).  5 minutes later he was home with one of the ‘big-boys’ (college swimmers that you are not supposed to look at but their abs stare you in the face) to pick up his bicycle.  No big deal, right? 

A little while later LittleFoot and I went running to celebrate National Running Day.  We decided to run by the pool to show off check on her brother.  All of the swimmers were passing us on their bikes as we approached.  We asked Coach what was going on.  He told us that they were all doing a triathlon.  It was then that I realized my poor son didn’t have any shoes – because you don’t need shoes for swimming.  So I ran home to get his shoes then drove back to meet the team. 

It was incredible!!  They all swam 1000m x 12mile bike x 5k run.  A few things learned – check with the coach the day you return from vacation for any ‘special’ notices regarding practice – wear shoes to practice – it’s easier to race with a mountain bike than a street bike (see below) – no matter what you believe, you can do anything – always have a camera handy (i didn’t).

The kid did great! He was the only swimmer in his group to participate – the rest were the high-school & college swimmers.  He passed many of them.  I was really proud of his effort and his ability – and a wee bit jealous.

That afternoon he took his sister to the pool with him & they had a blast. 

I like them!

Done bragging now.

Run on!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. June 10, 2010 10:27 am

    AWESOME BIGFOOT!!! Give him a high 5 for me!! I think we need to get in a Tri!! You, me, FRF, BF, FR, anyone else!! I think it would be fun. I just need to get to work on some actual lap swimming. And I am starting at the Anytime Fitness today too. (early bday gift from my folks- Cody got one too)

    btw- did you hear that Cody’s truck was stolen 2 days ago from the farm? And that on that same day, Dakota was found “passed” outside. And that Madi is LOVING swim lessons with Shakor?? (spelling might be wrong)

  2. June 11, 2010 8:15 am

    Awesome job. There is nothing I love more than watching kids be active. Power to your son for keeping up with the big boys.

  3. June 14, 2010 2:54 pm

    I like those 2 “foots” too! Love!

Leave a Reply

