Skip to content

cleanin’ out my closet

June 8, 2010

I DON’T share the same sentiment with Eminem at all.  But I love him & I love his music.  Doesn’t get much more raw than that.  I like raw.  I like real.  That is the song that went through my head all day as I brought my office back home and began ridding myself of years of therapy books, notes, papers, diagnosis books, curriculum & treatment plans.   Thousands of dollars of texts books sit in a box ready to be recycled.

This is what kept me from running today –

I need a little focus in my life.  When I decided to close my office downtown, I knew I would have to rid myself of a lot of junk and streamline my work at home to incorporate the two – work + home. 

Here is some of what I found in the piles of books & papers:

Notes & papers from my masters program 15 years ago.  I wrote “informational junk” in one of my papers and got an A+ for noticing that research is full of “informational junk” – I was in over my head but my instructor saw me as brilliant and able to weed out the crap.  Boy did I have all of them fooled.  I also came across a paper I wrote about my nephew – he was 9 years old at the time.  I used terms like “attention seeking behavior” and “not following directions“.  uh. duh.  That describes every 9-year-old boy on the planet!!  I was very smart back then, ya know.  And I hadn’t been blessed with children yet.  I had a lot to learn.

Then I came across these books:

I’m a dork!  I’m sure I’ll be a “automatic millionaire” very soon.  If I could just find the button.

Also found these books:

I remember reading these when I was training for my marathon 5 years ago.  Glad they showed back up – couldn’t be more perfect timing. 

So – I threw out one set of books (aka donated) and kept the others.  Guess which ones?

My office looks better.  Eminem has been through therapy.  Recycling is where it’s at.  Life is good.

Now – if I could only get my kids to schedule an appointment to meet with me.

Run on Friends!

One Comment leave one →
  1. June 11, 2010 1:20 am

    LOL. Must be nice going through memories like that. Cleaning up our closet can bring back the old times, uh?

Leave a Reply

