Skip to content

Our trip to Colorado. . .

June 4, 2010

In 1992 I graduated from college (oh lordy this will be a long post) to find that I didn’t know what I wanted to do, where I wanted to live, or who I wanted to be.  Feeling like I was the only college-grad to ever feel such loss, I spoke with my BFF who had gotten married and moved to Boulder, Colorado (how dare her!).  She encouraged me to come stay with them for a few days.  My grandparents graciously gave me a few hundred $$ to get my feet off the ground(mom & dad were going through a divorce – I’m not sure they noticed I ever moved). And, my boyfriend (the one you know and love) promised to keep it in his pants while I was gone and then join me when he graduated.  I gave myself 1 week to find a job and an apartment.  I found both on the second day and  my life turned to utopia.

A couple of years & a couple nieces & nephews born pulled us back home.  What were we thinking!??!?!  We love home.  We love that our home cost 1/3 of what we were looking at to purchase out there.  We love that our children can spend the night with their grandparents (really love that!) and we love that the kids know their cousins better than I knew mine.  BUT — we love & miss Colorado.  We go out as often as we can & we fill our days with wonderful food & people – in the dry air.  aaaahhhhh…

Saturday:  we jumped in the Tahoe and headed west.  We stared at the vast countryside for hours –

 

The half-way point is The Oasis of the Plains (aka Starbucks in Western KS)

This is the point when all bladders are emptied, the truck is filled, and mommy stops yelling at the kids (at least while the Starbucks is present).

Three more hours and this. . .

Finally – Mounains!  One of the few things in life I can look at and my mood & spirit are both transformed immediately.  I L.O.V.E. the mountains!

So we arrive at my uncles’ home and eat, drink, laugh and act completely nuts.  They live on a farm.  We let dogs & cats in the house because the uncles need to feel the love of having children in their home with pets. 

We sleep and then head to Boulder to get our race packets and meet BFF & family for dinner.

wearing one of the FOUR free t-shirts I received that day

As you can tell, the guys were with us – but did you really want to see them??  23 years of laughter, pain, and growth.  This girls’ a keeper.

LittleFoot had a sleepover with her “cousins” (aka BFF’s kids) and the remaining three of our clan headed back to uncles’ to rest up for our big race. 

The next morning was perfect –

I had my pigtails in – our teenager was waking up – Mr. Happy-pants was ready to run.  Then we saw this on our way to the starting line and I kicked myself hard:

DAMN! Why did we leave this place?

The race was full.  Over 51,500 runners.  Lots of crazies.  Beautiful day – sunshine, breeze, dry air.  It was amazing.  Every 67 seconds another wave (89 total waves) was started by Rick Riley (my favorite sports writer) and some guy named Dr. Oz?? (I kid – not about the rick riley part – I love him – have read everything he’s written)

If you checked the blog yesterday, you saw a smiling – happy – fun-loving – boy who loved ever step of the race.  Let me show you how he really felt just before he took ‘the plunge’:

check out the half-shirts

Not quite the same feeling.  Even after catching a marshmallow in his mouth 2 blocks earlier (holla!).  

Regardless – he ran, he dove, he swam and he turned and climbed the “summit” of the course:

and he chugged through til the end. 

** I would like to make a disclaimer.  At the 9k mark our kid said, “If it’s okay, I’d like to finish this alone.”  We proudly agreed.  He sprinted off – we stayed just far enough back to keep an eye on him but give him his own sense of accomplishment.  After crossing the line he promptly began texting his friends telling them how he ‘beat’ us!  Children should be shot when they turn 13. **

The next 3 hours were spent in the bleachers waiting for Ethiopians to start and win a race and searching for my long-lost-friend Beth (more later).   We got sun burned – we were starving – and to top it off we were visited in the bleachers by someone we didn’t even know would be there – Aunt Flo – she’s a crazy B*$@#!!  Good Times.

More to come. . . gotta run.

15 Comments leave one →
  1. June 4, 2010 7:48 am

    That’s awesome! I love Colorado too, in fact when we’re done with the Army we’re moving to Colorado. Those mountains are gorgeous!
    Big congrats to your son, way to beat mom and dad!!! LOL

    • SS runs permalink
      June 4, 2010 7:58 am

      What a little jerk! 🙂
      Maybe we can meet in CO someday – we half-heartedly joke that we are moving there the day after LittleFoot starts college.

      • June 4, 2010 8:37 am

        Sorry, moving is not ok. I have to approve these things with SisterRunner and BigLittleBrother first. ;o)

  2. SS runs permalink
    June 4, 2010 7:58 am

    What a little jerk! 🙂
    Maybe we can meet in CO someday – we half-heartedly joke that we are moving there the day after LittleFoot starts college.

  3. June 4, 2010 9:20 am

    Your crazy friend Beth says you should move back here.

    • SS runs permalink
      June 4, 2010 9:26 am

      Okay – if you insist.

  4. June 4, 2010 9:26 am

    I love Colorado, too. You SHOULD move there!!!

    • SS runs permalink
      June 4, 2010 9:27 am

      So many fans!
      I better move there. 🙂

      • June 4, 2010 9:57 am

        This is rigged! So many against me! What will I do… guess we will have to move with you. :o)

  5. June 4, 2010 12:02 pm

    i kick myself everytime i go back and visit, too. oh how i love the mountains. we always say we’re moving back.
    one day.
    maybe one day…
    🙂

    • SS runs permalink
      June 4, 2010 1:04 pm

      oh Cass – I have been missing you lately – I’m e-mailing you right now!

  6. June 4, 2010 9:33 pm

    23 years and counting! You can always stay with me again… and the girls would love it! K is still telling her friends her cousin was out here visiting. Awesome!

    • SS runs permalink
      June 4, 2010 9:36 pm

      It’s where I want to live.

  7. June 4, 2010 10:06 pm

    hmm…maybe i could do it.
    maybe.

    this looks like fun. 🙂
    the kid is awesome.
    so are you.

    the end.

    • SS runs permalink
      June 5, 2010 6:39 am

      yes.
      you can do it.
      fun & super easy.

Leave a Reply

