Skip to content

What is Versatile??

May 26, 2010

http://1.bp.blogspot.com/_Ijp1_HShZ4s/S_RB_g_Ey8I/AAAAAAAABeg/Py5Lv7bf6WA/s1600/4615674089_2d630e10a0_o.jpg

Sweet miss Katye at Long Legs on the Loose tagged me with this.  I have looked at it and read other responses to ‘versatile’ – have looked up the definition of ‘versatile’ and am not sure I am.   Then I thought “what 7 things am I willing to share with the world?”  Don’t you find it tough to filter for different groups that might read your blog? family?  friends? people you go to church with? co-workers? complete strangers?  To be honest, I’m much more willing to share anything with a complete stranger than to a friend.  The stranger most likely will forget ever talking to you – a friend keeps you accountable. OUCH! 

So I decided to make my list based on 7 things that are safe enough to share (probably the same things I’ve shared over and over):

  1.  I love to cook.  If I taste something good in a restaurant, I know I can go home and recreate it – or at least make it work for our entire family.  My time is in the kitchen – the family doesn’t mess with me as much when I’m holding a big knife.

  2. Running is cheaper than therapy.  Therefore, I believe in finding the right shoes, gear, clothing, etc. because if I didn’t – I’d be paying someone to listen & medicate me.  I figure those two costs alone pay for a pair of shoes per month.  If only I could convince my sweet husband to agree with new shoes every month. . .

  3. I don’t believe I have truly found my gift.  I feel there is something hidden inside of me.  No clue what it could be.  No clue what direction to go.  Just know there is a skill that is waiting to come out.  I just pray it doesn’t involve a hot glue gun.

  4. I will talk to anyone.  Absolutely anyone.  OK – I take that back.  There are a few life-forms I’m not willing to waste a minute on. 

  5. I’m extremely competitive.  To the point where it’s best I don’t talk to anyone.  See the contradictions here?? 

  6. If FatherRunner was willing I would bring home every puppy I see.  Except for the tiny ones.  I do not like little dogs.  I’m not sure how they stay so small.  I think it’s magic. 

  7. I make decisions and then get super bored with them.  My family is lucky I keep them around. 

So.  Now that I’ve typed that list, I’ve decided that “versatile” means “wishy-washy” for me.  Gotta keep everyone happy! 

I’m only going to tag one friend and that’s my SIL – SisterRunner – she amazes me with her ability to fit it all in with little peeps at home.  Way to go SR!!

Go forth and Be Versatile.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. May 26, 2010 9:18 am

    1. I admire anyone who has the patience, and ability, to cook.
    2. Ditto!!!!!
    3. Mucho Ditto!!
    4. Hahah. That made me smile! I know a few life forms also. I hope I wasn’t in that list though 🙂
    5. You’re talking to yourself, that’s what competitive people do.
    6. I love that about you, you have such a kind, warm soul. I don’t like dogs very much at all, especially itty-bitty ones….but my daughter’s boyfriend has a really cute larger dog and I actually really like him, he has a great personality. I am thinking maybe one day we’ll do the dog thing….???
    7. I hope that doesn’t include marathon training??!!

    See you in a few days???!!!!!!! SO excited! 🙂

  2. SS runs permalink
    May 26, 2010 9:29 am

    HEY! I was e-mailing you at the same time you were commenting.
    4. you are not one of them.
    7. sometimes it does…ggggrrrr.

  3. May 26, 2010 11:11 am

    Okey dokey sis! I will get on that today… dont really know what to say about myself.

    • SS runs permalink
      May 27, 2010 9:07 am

      I’m sure you’ll think of something. 🙂

  4. May 26, 2010 4:12 pm

    Fun to learn some new facts about you!!!

    • SS runs permalink
      May 27, 2010 9:07 am

      Yes.
      I hope we can meet up this weekend!

  5. May 27, 2010 9:51 pm

    I love the comment about running gear being cheaper than therapy. I’ll have to remember that next time I need therapy in the retail wing.

    Little dogs… I don’t have time for them either. Mine is 12 years old and 90 pounds. Anything smaller than his head is not of the same species, by my books.

    • SS runs permalink
      May 28, 2010 7:04 am

      Amen!
      We lovingly refer to little dogs as “punt dogs” – because they are the size of a football. . .and you can guess the rest.
      sorry little dog lovers.

Leave a Reply

