Skip to content

summer lovin’

May 24, 2010

I L.O.V.E. summer! 

I love having my kids home.  You see, during the school year, my mind wanders to my kids often. Wondering what they are doing. . .how much more time I have left to get my work done before they get home. . . and a general feeling of “hurry up!” in my mind. 

When they are home I designate and use my time effectively – for fear I will miss out on them and they will miss out on me.  Things feel more relaxed, but are much more structured.  I am interrupted a million times during the day, but it is typically good news “can I go swimming?”  “what time is practice?” etc. 

I can run when I wake up (whatever time that may be) and they are still sleeping. 

I can make a grocery list that everyone likes because they are with me.

They both actively see how much swim team, church camp, and tennis lessons all cost and tend to ask for less when it comes to movies, eating out, and buying stuff. 

They both work for neighbors, relatives, and friends to earn spare money that they use for guitars, swim suits, tennis racquets, and junk.

We have big plans as a family – and most of it involves hanging out. 

We’ve been out of school 3 days and have spent 3 days with friends. 

To me – it is the perfect season.  (don’t ask me about running at 8:00am in 82% humidity, 78° temps, 30mph winds, with sweat running down the back of my legs)

Run on Friends! (and keep hydrated)

2 Comments leave one →
  1. May 24, 2010 3:25 pm

    Howdy! Our summer starts Friday…so looking forward to those lazy, fun days too!
    A

    • SS runs permalink
      May 25, 2010 8:43 am

      We plan on being there to help you kick off a great summer!

Leave a Reply

