Skip to content

Runs in the family

May 17, 2010

This weekend was full of “trial” runs. 

My sis-in-law – Sister Runner – wanted to break an hour in a 10k – however due to no scheduled 10k’s – she made up her own route.  SR had decided on a country-road-route which caused me to second guess whether I really wanted to do this.  Not because I’m scared of country roads – but because I get bored in the country (or so I thought).  Saturday morning was the plan.  We would start at her house, run a nice loop through the country-side and call it good. 

We did great!  We went out and hammered out a 9:10 first mile and 9:25 second mile – then asthma hit the chest of SR.  Being the ever-diligent mothers we are, we found ourselves not only without her inhaler, but without cell phones!! R U Kidding Me!?!?  So we walked.  Her breathing returned to normal and we ran again.  Breathing became labored – we walked . . . and so on.  Did we break an hour?  Not even close.  Did we enjoy ourselves and get some mommy time to talk and ignore life? TOTALLY! 

The route was beautiful.  Overcast skies – misty – light breeze – temp in the 50s – couldn’t ask for a more perfect day.  It was good for me to run outside of town.  I found myself much more interested in God’s glory instead of frustrated with God’s people not knowing how to drive!!  🙂

Prior to Saturday, BigFoot asked if he could do the Bolder Boulder with FatherRunner and me at the end of the month.  We agreed he could enter it if he could run 6 miles.  (we knew he could run 4 from track)

Check out the hair!! and the Air!! and the height!!

Sooo. . . Saturday was his trial run. When I returned home from my jaunt with SR – FR and BF headed out for their own 10k around town.  An hour later two rain-soaked, smiling and sweaty men showed up on my front porch – and I let them in.  A couple high-fives and the boy is running the BB!  The remainder of Saturday BigFoot groaned and complained about his aching body.  FatherRunner and I smiled and reminded him of his accomplishment and then rubbed it in his face that “we are 40 years old and we aren’t sore!” – because that’s what good parents do. 

Hope you enjoyed your weekend too.

Run on Friends!

5 Comments leave one →
  1. May 17, 2010 11:58 am

    I know, so pathetic, so need to plan ahead better with this new “asthma” thing. And it would have helped to have a few hundred to thousand of people running with me. I do better at ignoring myself and moving through it. THANKS FOR SHARING IN THE RUN WITH ME!! I think I will be trying it again this week, in town maybe, music definitely, inhaler on me, and maybe a phone in my butt pocket. (which would mean I would have to wear those pants and not tempos.)
    anyway– THANKS SIS!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 17, 2010 12:56 pm

      Yeah. We both could have planned a little better. Phones are helpful.
      But we did it!

  2. May 17, 2010 12:47 pm

    Hey! So glad BigFoot is going to run the BolderBoulder…you guys will have a blast. We had the HeatherHeatherwood this morning…Allan Culpepper was their motivational speaker…a nice perk of being in the land of runner’s. I will blog about it soon so you can check it all out! Glad SR was ok!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 17, 2010 12:56 pm

      I’M SO JEALOUS!! Maybe I will take BigFoot to their store to buy new shoes!

  3. May 18, 2010 9:12 am

    Love the pic, the hair is priceless! My 6 year old wants to do a 5K with me so I told him we’d start going to the track this summer, I hope he enjoys it as much as yours does.

    PS I don’t know about the half in Tulsa but there is one here in the fall, Spirit of Survival at the wichita mountains wildlife refuge. I did the 5K up Mt. Scott last year and will probably do it again this year but there is also a half and full marathon, 5K, 5K up the mountain, a 10K and a kids marathon. Maybe something you’d consider? There’s something for the whole family. 🙂

Leave a Reply

