Skip to content

Happy Birthday Mom!

May 14, 2010

Today I want to share a little someone with you.  Someone who gave birth to me & my three siblings.  Someone who is a FIGHTER! thru and thru…

MY MOM!

My Mom, Sister and Step-Sister - at another *ahem* birthday. Beer & chocolate - does life get any better?

A bit about her:  She has been through a lot.  Besides raising 4 obnoxious kids (okay 3 obnoxious and 1 perfect), she has been a single mom, young parent,  ‘non-traditional’ college student (thanks a lot!), care-taker of her own parents, babysitter, farmer, coach, encourager, and friend.   Everything I hated about her when I was an adolescent, is everything I see in myself now (and love)– she was funny, she had a lot of friends, she went to every one of our activities, she followed our passions – even when short-lived, she flirted with Dad, she cooked every night, she allowed herself to shine through – regardless of what others thought of her, and she believed she could accomplish anything.   She has always been a cool mom.  

As she sits in a small apartment in Atlanta, GA cheering and encouraging her husband back to life, she is surrounded by friends.  Her phone hasn’t stopped ringing.  Her mailbox runneth over.  Her e-mailbox filling up.   She is super strong and I hope I can be half as strong when I grow up.

Love you Mom – Hope your day was great and you found some fried sweet-potato chips!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. May 14, 2010 5:36 pm

    Please tell you Mom Happy Birthday from me…she looks great and always has! I also send a big hug her way…thinking of her a lot.

  2. May 14, 2010 7:48 pm

    Thanks for putting it all out there!! But let me had, she is a great mom n law too. :o)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 15, 2010 6:40 am

      I assume so…I wouldn’t know. 🙂

  3. May 14, 2010 8:50 pm

    Awwww, this is so touching. She sounds a lot like my mom was, I miss her so much! Happy Birthday to your mom! I know she’s super proud of you!!!

    HUGS from Denver!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 15, 2010 6:39 am

      Thanks Jilly – I know your mom is super proud of you too.

  4. The "MOM" permalink
    May 15, 2010 2:15 am

    sniff.. THANK..sniff…YOU…sniff!!!
    I LOVE YOU BABY GIRL!!

    Don’t know how I’d have done it without ALL you crazy kids (and step-kids, and in-law-kids, and especially, GRANDKIDS!)

    Just remember, I’m going to live to be 150 &(AND) I won’t go to a nursing home!!!

    LOVE YOU LOTS!
    THANK YOU FOR A BEAUTIFUL DAY!!! sniff…sniff…sniff :’-)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 15, 2010 6:39 am

      You’re welcome!
      Wish we could be out there.
      Love you.

  5. May 15, 2010 5:43 am

    Thanks to the amazing Jill above, I just found your blog! You are one lucky girl to have such a cool mom! Hope the birthday festivities were fit for a queen!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 15, 2010 6:38 am

      Welcome Marcia! Thanks for stopping by.

Leave a Reply

