Skip to content

the real me: part 2

May 11, 2010

Because I’m at a loss for words. . . and last night my parenting skills were questionable (at best). . .and I have looked at my blog with little/no inspiration. . . and I get stuck in my work. . .I thought I would share this quote:

“I have come to a frightening conclusion

That I am the decisive element in the home.

It’s my personal approach that creates the climate.

It is my daily mood that makes the weather.

 

As a parent, I possess a tremendous

Power to make a child’s life miserable or joyous.

I can be a tool of torture or an instrument of inspiration.

 

I can humiliate, hurt or heal.

In all situations, it is my response that decides

Whether a crisis will be escalated or de-escalated

And a child humanized or dehumanized.”

Taken from Between Parent & Child by Dr. Haim Ginott.

Mother’s day was hard this year – my mom is alone in Atlanta & my Mother-in-law was without her own mother for the first time “in as long as I can remember“.  They both deserve so much & it is hard to fill a void, whether in distance or in presence.  We tried. 

While it was hard, it was also sweet.  There is healing and there is encouargement.

Through all of it I sit in the muddy waters of my own parenting and wonder what it will look like in 20 more years.  Looking at the above quote reminds me of who sets the tone & how my response sets the tone in each child’s life. 

I’m going to choose inspiration.

Running has taken a back-seat to all of the end of the year activities & appointments.  Have run twice in the last week (busy – running = crazy mom!!) and can feel the progress slipping away.  Time to set some goals for the summer and run toward them!

Run on Friends!  🙂

6 Comments leave one →
  1. Jana permalink
    May 11, 2010 12:59 pm

    Wow. That quote is so amazing it hurts. You helped make my Mother’s Day worthwhile, friend. Thank you a million times over! 🙂

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 11, 2010 1:19 pm

      yes. all that sappy complaining was a real boost uh? 🙂
      love you.

  2. May 11, 2010 4:42 pm

    Great great quote and a good reminder. We forget how much influence, good and bad, we have over our kids.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 12, 2010 2:34 pm

      Empowering yet awful at times.

  3. May 11, 2010 9:09 pm

    Wow…when you put it like that…ugh! Sometimes it is all so hard but we manage and most of our own parents would say they have pretty good memories of us as kids so let’s hold out hope that are bad days will all be long forgotten. Happy Mother’s Day!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 12, 2010 2:35 pm

      I’m sure I will have pretty good memories of them…I’m worried about their memories of me!! 🙂

Leave a Reply

