Skip to content

return of ‘SuperMom’!

May 3, 2010

Yeah.  That’s right.  I’m SuperMom!  Able to run miles and miles and come home to clean, parent, love, & work.  So easy.

HA!

It was time for a weekend of recharging – no more “I have to…” or “I guess I will…” or “Just a MINUTE!” or “maybe if I run now, I will get to my appointment only 15 minutes late and those parents won’t mind. . .”

Thankfully I have a friend who wanted to celebrate her 40th birthday in – CHICAGO!  So we loaded up the car and headed to Chicago for a weekend of shopping, eating, and a little running. 

(okay – so this photo was taken in September right after the U2 concert at Soldier Field – but hey, it’s Chicago and this is where I ran – I love this city!)

Lake Shore Drive – out & back 6 miles – perfect day – stopped twice to drink in the skyline against the sky – love, love, LOVE this city!

Tons of shopping, food & wine drinking.  In fact, a very drunk guy at a restaurant said slurred, “you’re really pretty” about 1 inch from my face.  I am happy he did.  Though I wanted to be flattered, it reminded me that there are tons of a$$holes drunk guys out there and I’m very thankful to be married.  Thanks Drunk Guy! 

Amazingly – though I love my time with friends – getting home is the best feeling. **WARNING BRAG MOMENT!!**  Not only did I come home to a clean house, freshly mowed lawn, weeds pulled, eager husband, sleepy daughter waiting for a kiss, drooling son ~ there was a note by my bed:

Dear Mom ~ You’re the best and I would be so alone if you weren’t my mom! Whenever we go to get you or wait for you at the house I feel like a new person because I get to be with you again.  You’re the best!”

I understand what she is saying & feeling.  I, too,  feel like a new person everytime I see them.  That note helps me remember why I do what I do. Why I need to recharge with friends.  Why those days when the kids get on my last nerve, they still deserve everything I have.  I missed them.  I want to hold on to this moment, because before long, she will be 13 & he will be graduating. 

Now before this gets too sappy, I’m going to go for a run and take in the beauty of small-town KS.

Run on Friends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. May 3, 2010 9:10 am

    Too bad we didn’t get to see each other, maybe next time. Loved your post, especially your daughters note. Moments like that one are truly priceless.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 3, 2010 9:26 am

      I’ll be back! I promise.
      Sorry I was so late getting to you – that was the day after the *ahem* “comment” from the lovely young man at the restaurant. 🙂
      good times.

  2. May 3, 2010 9:35 am

    That’s so cool you got a weekend away with the girls and did some girlie stuff…I love those weekends and hope you and I will get to do one someday soon :). Chicago is a blast!!!

    I had my 19-yr old sitting on my bed in tears last night, boyfriend things – I sat there listening and suddenly, the past 19 years flashed in front of me and I overwhelmed that we were at this stage of our lives. Grateful she could confide in me, for sure, but wow….where did all those years go?? Embrace it!!!

    HUGS!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      May 3, 2010 9:58 am

      Yes. We will get to do that someday (soon)!

      I really can’t believe they grow up so fast. I know that crying over a boyfriend is just around the corner. I hope she still “feels like a new person” around me in 10 years. 🙂

  3. May 3, 2010 7:01 pm

    it was awesome.
    every minute of it.

Leave a Reply

