Skip to content

pre-race dreams are whack!

April 22, 2010

…wondering if anyone else gets ‘pre-race dreams’?  You know, the ones where you are rushing to get to the starting line – positive you won’t make it? or the one where you are dressed in the most ridiculous running clothes known to man (like leg-wamers from the ’80’s)? or the one where you had to write your fastest time on your arm and then the easiest way to get to the starting line was by swimming down a river with a really strong current? 

I have.

Last night took the prize – from what I can remember – starting out with staying in a ‘hotel’ with a bunch of my son’s buddies from track as our roommates.  They weren’t there because they were participating, it was more like we had adopted all of them and I was in charge of an extra 5-10 middle school boys (most of which were the big ones – not the small version of a 13-year-old boy).  The ‘hotel’ was in a slum with trash and broken windows all over – which caused me to be extra cautious for my new ‘family’.   Suddenly I woke up (in my dream) and we were sleeping in our church as if it had sleeping rooms – boys were no longer in the picture – the 1/2 marathon was for church members only and everyone was rushing around.  I knew I would have to go to the bathroom before we started but the line was super long and the stalls were teeny tiny.  When I came out I had lost my hat & my hair was crazy thick & curly and making me sweat a lot (Pedro from Napoleon Dynamite).  Everyone started saying “you better get your time on your arm and get going – you’re going to miss it” as if they weren’t standing in the same area doing the same thing.  Folks were all comparing times and one girl from church (who has already told me I’m crazy for running – in real life) had written 1:14 on her arm!! They all looked at me with the “and you think you’re a runner?” look. We had to float down a rapid moving river, get on a bus to drive around a track (while a track meet was going on) and then dash to the starting line.  Then I woke up.

Is this weird?

Run your Race Friends!

4 Comments leave one →
  1. April 22, 2010 9:29 am

    HAHAHAAAAA!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      April 22, 2010 4:01 pm

      you like?

      • April 23, 2010 1:47 pm

        I must not re “hardcore”. I don’t dream about running, I just freak out about being late and can’t sleep more than 1 hr at a time the night before. (Noticed today that the Half this sunday is SOLD OUT! That is a lot of sweaty bodies. 😉

  2. April 23, 2010 10:37 am

    what was weird about that……

    wow.

Leave a Reply

