Skip to content

something to talk about…

April 13, 2010

I really have nothing to share.  So I’m gong to ramble – consider it my gift to you today.

I’ve been running and thinking and running and thinking.  One is good for me (running) the other (thinking) … not so much. 🙂

Do you ever do that?  Get so deep into your brain that you think “where did THAT come from!?!?!?”  Happens to me a lot. 

I’ve been thinking a lot about next week’s 1/2 in OKC.  I am super excited to run.  I have been imagining crossing the finish in 1:57.  I know most of the course, so I have visualized how I will feel at each point.  I’ve also been feeling like an athlete lately.   I feel confident and in shape – more than ever!  YAY!

I’ve been thinking a lot about Jeff, Mom, step-sisters & what our new life will look like.  I know God is so good and big plans are in the works for us.  My human brain is very curious about all of it.   I feel like I’m in a constant state of prayer – constant conversation with God.  However, I am not making much sense and I’m not very attentive to others around me.  A friend enduring some tests.  A daughter who is sucking the life out of me.  A son who is trying to learn to be a man overnight.  A husband who hasn’t heard much (other than mumbling) for days.  A Mom who needs encouragement right now.   I’m waiting for a peaceful day – in my head.  Maybe less coffee, work and activities would help – but those are the things keeping me focused distracted.  

Someone told me “be easy on yourself“.  Sweet sentiment –  but HA!  Are you kidding???  No easy.  This is a fight!  A fight I’m willing to endure.   This is life.  It is what it is & it is good.

I had big plans for introducing my next venture in raising awareness for a cause (April is Child Abuse Awareness month) – but it hasn’t happened.   This is the prevention I work for.  The struggle that I enter into daily with families.  The definition that confuses all parents.  I’m amazed that I’ve been trusted to seek out and encourage families for such a calling and I LOVE it!   But when it hurts – it hurts HARD.  There is no getting around child abuse.  It happens everywhere and effects everyone. 

So hang in there.  I’ll return to my ‘ol ways of sarcasm and bathroom talk.  But for now.  Just keep running and be mindful of what you have.  Your family.  Your health.  Your abilities.  That’s all I ask.

Run the Race Friends!

3 Comments leave one →
  1. run4may permalink
    April 13, 2010 5:45 pm

    I do the same… thinking too much.

    Congrats on feeling the most in shape ever. I can’t wait to experience that. I think the last time I felt in shape was two summers ago.

    “Maybe less coffee, work and activities would help – but those are the things keeping me focused distracted.” I think those are the things keeping you sane at the moment.

    I love the part where you surrendered and said, “This is life, It is what it is & it is good.” That is true.

    I too have had a rough couple weeks with family and friends going through some difficult times. But, “that is life.”

    What do you do for a living, if you don’t mind sharing? You mentioned that April is child abuse awareness month and that you work for prevention. Can you say more about this?

  2. April 14, 2010 1:20 pm

    Can’t wait to read about the race! I bet you’ll kill your time. I’m getting so nervous about accomplishing my sub 2 half in May…Need to get the doubt out of my mind NOWWW doubt does nothing right?

  3. April 29, 2010 7:37 pm

    wow fun stuff man.

Leave a Reply

