Skip to content

Mark Austry

March 18, 2010

Trying to find a way to mention a tragedy in the middle of my excitement did not seem appropriate.  I have decided it was best left as its own post. . .

… Just as I crossed the finish line there was a huge crowd to my right.  I didn’t think anything of it. It was just a group of people.  Soon the medal was around my neck, FRF was there greeting me, and behind her was a girl on a bull-horn repeating “Keep Moving Runners!  Do Not Wait For Your Friends!”  Which I thought was odd.  I asked FRF  “what is that all about?” and she pointed toward the crowd and told me about a guy who collapsed right behind her after crossing the finish-line.  They were continuing CPR on him as we were leaving the area. 

Below is the memorial for – Mark Austry – a father, a brother, a husband, and a son whose life was cut too short.

In Memory of Mark Austry 

The Rock ‘n’ Roll family suffered a significant loss at the Inaugural Rock ‘n’ Roll Dallas Half Marathon with the sudden and tragic passing of Mark Austry.  He had just completed the half marathon with his brother, Michael, high-fiving each other as they crossed the finish line side by side in 1.47:39.  …

Mark, 32, was a native of Fort Worth, Texas and played collegiate baseball at Texas Tech, but in recent years had devoted his considerable athletic talents to golf – once shooting a 63, and won the local championship six straight years and had qualified for and played in a number of major events including the British Amateur.  While occupationally a corporate position recruiter, his life was really focused around his family, and he leaves behind his wife, Mariana Alvarez Austry, who he met at Tech, and two young daughters Isabella and Anna who were the center of his world.

If you would like to make a donation in Mark’s memory to the Memorial Fund for Isabella & Anna Austry it can be sent to:

Edward Jones Investments: c/o Britt Harper, 120 Southeast Ave B, Seminole, TX 79630

Run safe friends.

6 Comments leave one →
  1. March 18, 2010 1:36 pm

    Thanks for this. Really eerie that you were there. I did an article on the Examiner about his passing too.

  2. March 18, 2010 2:38 pm

    This issue really scared the hubby, he wants me to not push so hard at the end….hummmmm…..

  3. March 18, 2010 5:22 pm

    This was so sad, I was shocked when I heard about it Sunday evening. I guess since I came through much later everyone had already moved on. I was surprised that I didn’t hear even a mention of it while I was there. It wasn’t until I got home that I heard. It’s so sad because it should be such a joyous moment. My thoughts and prayers are with his family.

  4. March 18, 2010 8:31 pm

    that is sad.

    nice header. 🙂

  5. March 19, 2010 9:34 am

    How very sad…

  6. jeremy permalink
    June 6, 2010 10:28 am

    very sad! I am very sorry to the family for their loss.

    Running is like any other sport, it is healthy but there is risk. I have been a ruuner since 1995 (not a serious runner)

    I will continue to Run knowing there is risk but there is also reward and I belive the reward far outways the risk.

Leave a Reply

