Skip to content

Dallas Rock ‘n Roll 1/2 Mary recap

March 16, 2010

I want to start with the most important part of running the race:

The prize! 

Now let’s go back to the beginning of the trip.

Saturday morning my three traveling companions and I left for Dallas – expecting a 6 hour drive and hoping to arrive at the race expo around 3:30 – plenty of time to shop.  We stopped in OKC to grab a bite to eat at the worlds slowest and smallest Wendy’s and jumped back on the road.  30 miles later we ran into construction!  1 hour and only 14 miles later we were able to drive full-speed. We had 2 hours to go and 2.5 to get there (i hear a song in there).  Arrived at the expo with 20 minutes to spare – bought a jacket, a hat and some yurbuds as they were turning the lights out.

Caught up with UncleBrother at a K-State Alumni watch party.

Too bad those Cats keep losing to the Jayhawks (btw – any pro-KU comments will be deleted!)

After dinner it was time to prepare and get some sleep. Only to wake up and drive in more of this: Traffic!  We felt doomed to miss the start of this race!  Of course, that meant all the other people in the traffic jam would miss it too – so we decided we’d be okay.

Quick pic as soon as we got to the starting line: 

and we were off!

Full report:

Mile 1 – quick right turn and we were running on the street where JFK was assassinated.  I felt my head tingle and my eyes got watery.

Mile 2 – ran by the Hard Rock Cafe where I smelled bacon.  E.V.I.L.!!  Running strong – good pace – now hungry.

Miles 3-5 – felt great – still a great pace.  Ran next to homes that we will never be able to afford even if we never spent a dime, invested it all, received inheritance, and sold our children.  That’s O.K.  Who would want to clean that big of a house!?!? 😉

Saw a lot of ‘barefoot’ runners wearing these:

Mile 6-9 I felt ‘the urge’.  No stomach cramps.  Just the slow descent of a morning poo that didn’t have time to exit prior to the start.  3 miles of NO PORTA POTS!! Finally – Mile 9 SCORE!  Stopped my watch – took care of business – started my watch & got moving again.

Mile 9-10 – couldn’t get my shorts back to where they were comfortable. My pit-stop got me all mixed up and I spent a mile working on comfort.

Mile 11 – iPod died!  I could hear EVERYTHING!  Coughing. Encouragement. Conversations. Gagging. Shuffling. Trodding. Pounding. Breathing. 

Got passed by 3 separate Elvises Elvi Elveese – guys dressed as Elvis.

Mile 12 – Thighs were on FIRE!  It was a mile.  It was nothing.  It was a warm up.  It was two songs if I had an iPod to listen to.

Mile 13 – entered the CottonBowl fairgrounds and started to see people cheering.  Heard the UT band playing “I’ve Been Working on the Railroad” – which I thought was cool because it is our high school’s fight-song & I was wearing our colors YAY!  UncleBrother tells me it’s “Eyes of Texas are Upon You” which is the Longhorns fight song BOOOO!

FINISH! – FRF is waiting right there! 

Got our pictures taken – got our food.  Got dry clothes.

Found UncleBrother and LittleFoot and cheered on SisterRunner as she finished. 

It was a good trip.  We all ran our personal bests.  The weather was amazing.  Not bad for an inaugural race.  Not a lot of cheer support. Not enough toilets from mile 6-9, but a great race.  I love the medal & I found a new group to run for.  The time with the girls was great.  I’m pleased with how I ran and know what I want to work on for OKC. 

I wasn’t able to meet up with my bloggy friends due to traffic & well, traffic.  But they both rocked it with a personal best and an accomplished 1st. 

Run on Friends!

many pictures provided by SisterRunner & FRF – thanks gals – it was a blast!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. March 16, 2010 1:01 pm

    Congrats on a well run race!

  2. March 16, 2010 1:03 pm

    Way to rock in Dallas! Happy Recovery/Rest Week!

  3. March 16, 2010 1:15 pm

    YEA!!! WHOOHOO!!! BRING IT OKC!!!

  4. March 16, 2010 5:48 pm

    It’s too bad we didn’t get to meet but hopefully there will be another race we both get to run.

    PS I smelled the bacon at Hard Rock also and thought it was cruel. 🙂

  5. March 16, 2010 7:28 pm

    I agree, the prizes are the most fun! Great, great job!!

  6. March 17, 2010 11:33 am

    Sweeeeet medal, I like it!
    I’ve run past the JFK fatality spot in Dallas when I’ve run the White Rock Marathon and it’s always a sobering moment. 😦
    I can’t believe you could hold the moment for 3 miles….when I gotta go, I gotta GO NOW – have had more than one accident there, but thankfully not in a race. eeks. I have that problem a lot now on a run though so I know it’s a matter of time…I’m certain it’ll be Boston, where there are no pit-stops.
    You did great, girl! I’m so, so happy for you.

  7. March 17, 2010 12:02 pm

    wow.
    i don’t know how you do it.

Leave a Reply

