Skip to content

what a week

March 10, 2010

NO.  I’m not whining (yet) about the removal of beer & sugar from my diet…that will come.

It’s only my running, my emotions, my job, and my kids. 

Let’s start with Running: after our long run on Saturday I spent a lot of time stretching.  I was like Stretch Armstrong and could touch my toes!  Problem is – I typically don’t stretch much.  I really stretched my calves and now both calves are sore…only when I run.  So.  I may have gone over-board a bit and now may pay for it. 

Next – being the girl and goal setter I am, I bought a lovely running skirt:

Cute right?

Again, I was hoping to run in my new skort this weekend – but first I had to take it on a test run!  It’s very light weight, comfortable, fits well (until you move), and has nice pocket placement (on your thighs).  However two things really bothered me: 1. The built in shorts ride up! I’m not talking slide up a 1/2 inch – I’m talking HAVE YOU EVER WORN A DIAPER THONG!?!? Those shorts were planted so deep I could have gotten a free colonoscopy if there was a camera attached! 

2. My other complaint is the weird stitching that makes the skirt pop-out right at the hip:

Focus on the side of the skirt - not the ever-present poop eater!

Do you see what I’m talking about???  So.  I won’t be wearing that skirt to run 13.1 miles.  Sure I’ll wear it to local 5k’s and maybe in the bedroom – but not anything more!

Next we have Emotions in the list of gripes & let’s go ahead and directly link them to Kids – I love to kill two birds with one stone (dinner for two anyone?): I mentioned earlier in the week that BigFoot turned 13

iPod!!

 and I am having a hard time with it.  I love those two kids.(this is what parents do – most of the time)  There is nothing I have EVER loved more than being a mom to them.  It’s not always sunshine & rainbows, but everyday I am amazed at the children/people they are growing into.  Their happiness and joy for life.  Their ability to forgive.  Their desire to help & see hurt.  Their support and love for all things family.   I want them to grow, I want them to be independent, but I don’t want to miss a day or a week or a moment in time.  13 years has been much too fast and in 5 more we will send that boy to college.  Those emotions well up too quickly and I look at him and feel like I’m going to miss something.  I’m sure I’ve missed a ton already. 

So believe it or not that leaves Work and it, too, is related to my kids.  I love my job and I love what I do – but it can leave me with a heavy heart that wants to pack up and move to the country.  My funding was cut 30% at the end of 2009 – which is okay – I get more time at home and with my family – the problem is that my caseload and the needs on it are both getting bigger.  My heart aches for the families I serve and I feel very overwhelmed. 

This week has been hard to balance goals, dreams, growth, hurt, and daily life.  I believe it is all worth it.  There isn’t much I would change – okay, maybe hire a personal assistant, house-cleaner, chef, personal trainer, and fairy godmother – but I’m pooped!  I’m ready for Dallas, come-what-may & I’m ready to have a week with my kids at home for spring break. 

My friends made it home safely from Africa & bestie will be here in 2 weeks!!  Life is so Good!

** Enter the giveaway HERE – there is still time! Good Luck! **

Run on Friends!

If you are curious – I’ve run 110 miles for RiceBowls thus far = $110.00

4 Comments leave one →
  1. March 10, 2010 1:50 pm

    Can’t wait! Glad everyone made it back safe from Africa! C U Soon!

  2. March 10, 2010 2:35 pm

    That’s a really cute skirt! I absolutely cannot wear them because I have thunder quads and I just look like a toadstool in them so I understand why you’re not feeling the love with it. But it is cute 🙂

    I miss college daughter everyday, even when she’s a royal pain in the ass. She only goes to school 20 minutes away (DU) and is home a lot but still miss her. I understand the emotions. Thank God for running, huh?

    That’s one big puppy you have, girl!

    Can’t wait for your race, woohooo!!

    – Jilly

  3. March 10, 2010 11:01 pm

    i think the skirt is cute….but i didn’t see the diaper thong.
    that’s the picture you should include! 🙂

  4. March 11, 2010 11:05 am

    You know my shirt and I’ll be wearing a white under armor hat too, I’ll definitely be looking for you. I’m in corral 6, hope to see you there!!

Leave a Reply

