Skip to content

Rice Bowls & Miss Katie

February 26, 2010

Three months of running for these faces:

   

Precious little miracles.

 Those babies are RiceBowls recipients.   

I have mentioned RiceBowls and the fact that I am running to give to them.   I asked Katie (Director of Program Growth) some questions about RiceBowls and how they work.  Here’s what she had to say:  

RiceBowls is a 100% charitable organization – where do your operational funds come from?  To date, 100% of funds received have gone to our partners. This is possible because of some outside “start-up” donations we have received. Ultimately, we would like to be self-supporting with a model of giving 90% of all funds abroad, allocating 5-7% for educational programs related to our mission, and 3-5% for administrative and fund-raising costs.  

I saw on the website that $.25 provides 1 meal for an orphan – I want to be sure I’m getting it right.  If someone were to send in $100.00 this would be 400 meals? Meals cost different amounts in different countries and at different homes. We have infants we support, as well as teenagers. It costs about 45-50 cents per day to feed a child in India and as much as $1.80 in South Africa. Since we support more homes in India than anywhere else, 75 cents is the average. 25 cents a meal is an easy number to remember.   

We have talked a little bit about why only selected orphanages receive RiceBowl assistance – I don’t remember much of the details other than you are working to get into other countries and orphanages.  All of our orphanage partnerships have come about through a personal connection. Though this the Lord has led us to close relationships with accountable, Christ-centered homes. All our partners are intentional about introducing kids to Christ and discipling them to grow in their faith. Additionally, they are committed to raising children in a family setting and equipping them to be the next generation of Christian leaders. Our prayer for our kids is that they will be capable of impacting change on their communities – now and for years to come.
 

 (one more very important question) Have you been running? I need to be! That is what gives me a bit of balance and keeps me going. I was planning on a marathon this spring, but I’m engaged and life is full right now.  CONGRATULATIONS!!!  

The thing that gets me is that I can’t make $100 worth of groceries last 1 week – but I can collect my coins and feed an entire orphanage for a month.    

Maybe you have more questions.  Maybe you are giving to organizations that provide to orphanages.  Maybe you are interested in running for a cause.  If you are interested in RiceBowls visit their website HERE and see what they are all about.

Run on Friends!

2 Comments leave one →
  1. February 26, 2010 11:38 am

    Hi! Your comment about trying to make $100 last a week for our families really made a great point…I will save my pennies and pray that soon I can do more! Keep on runnin’ sista~
    I posted a great, easy project today on my blog…check it out! love!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 26, 2010 8:37 pm

      I just keep looking at it as one Starbucks lost.

Leave a Reply

