Skip to content

oh john mayer…what were you thinking?

February 12, 2010

That darn John Mayer.  I love him.  I love him as the song-writer John Mayer.  The comedian John Mayer.  The tattooed John Mayer, but the “I’m-so-cool-I-can-say-what-I-want” John Mayer lost me.

So today, in honor of John Mayer, I thought I’d help him out.  I mean really, where are we if we aren’t willing to accept a little direction and guidance from random bloggers who know nothing of us and have no ‘real’ vested interest in our lives (other than stalking – not that I have or ever would stalk John Mayer – come on).

Here’s what I read this morning:

You and I have a choice. We can choose to speak a blessing instead of a curse.  We can choose to call on life-giving perspective. Sometimes it takes every resource you have to speak helpful words instead of harmful words.  But really, in the end, what good does it do to speak judgment and curses?  people have been beaten down and attacked.  They carry such heavy burdens.  What if we began speaking mercy, peace, and kindness?”

I don’t know what he was thinking.  I don’t personally care.  What I care about is how one person’s words affect another – and when you put them in print for the world to see, those words could (quite possibly) affect the world.  Just sayin’.

Now…for the record, I am as big of a foot-eating ass as John Mayer.  I’ve been called names, and I believed them (I was 12).  I’m just as much of a fool when I have hurtful thoughts about myself or others.  We all do it. 

So…John Mayer and I?  We’re the same.

Now I tend to wonder…because I put this in ‘print’ – will it affect the world?  ooooooo….the power of the blog-o-sphere.

Run on Friends!

5.1 accidental miles yesterday.

editors note: apparently not everyone listens to the radio, watches tv or has had yahoo pop up in their face (right cousin runner?) so here’s the scoop…john mayer said awful things in his Playboy article (of all places to be awful!! ha ha) about previous girlfriends & his black friends – sexually & racially charged – bad john mayer, very bad.   what’s that judgey mcjudgerton? oh yeah.  that was me. 🙂

3 Comments leave one →
  1. February 12, 2010 6:41 pm

    He is an odd duck…never been to much of a fan but this was out of line. I picked up a fabric today…will send a snippet so you can see! Lots of Love!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 12, 2010 6:53 pm

      yay!
      the fabric is for a promotion on my blog…sssshhhhh….

      • February 12, 2010 9:48 pm

        Ohhh….nice! Thanks so much! Check your email…I will send the pic now of the fabric.

Leave a Reply

