Skip to content

Bucket list tag

February 5, 2010

I was tagged by my friend Beth Talkspoopalot to list 3 things on my bucket list.  Those three things I want to do before I die.   I haven’t put much  any thought into this ’til now.  Problem is, I still can’t come up with much.  FatherRunner and I stayed up late trying to come up with things but we got distracted…then tried to think of things again.  It’s hard work thinking about your impending doom.  

There are so many things I think would be fun – Hawaii (been there),  sitting down with someone I admire and having a conversation (did that), playing on the beach with Joe Montana’s children (check), being in love (totally), showing our kids the world (working on it).  I’ve been blessed.  That’s all there is to it.  I’m a lucky girl and I feel like my life has been full. 

However… I keep coming back to:  

1. I really want to meet my children’s spouses.  I want to see who they will spend their life with.  Of course, if I am given a year to live, say…tomorrow. I’m screwed.  (unless we move to Arkansas)  I had not thought of this until my son started noticing girls and discussing who he liked and why he liked them.  Makes my mom brain do back-flips.  I pray for the preparation of this young girls heart – and hope she enjoys potty-humor.  

  

We still stand around like this a lot.  

2. I want to hold another brand new baby – one from our family – not any old baby will do.  I see babies everywhere and love them.  But I want to smell the sweetness of labor and love. (no. i will not have another one. don’t ask.)  

march 7, 1997

3. I want to see the northern lights and bioluminescence on the water in Alaska.  My eyes are trained to recognize all things Alaska.  Maybe it’s from watching The Deadliest Catch year after year. Or maybe that is where I am supposed to be.  I have always had a very strong desire to be alone – without the comforts of home – without the friends we grew up with – without the ability to run to the store to grab a gallon of milk because I am distracted by a client while shopping – no where near any sign of civilization.   Here’s what I think I would do if I am told I have _____ time to live “I won’t tell anyone.”  So…if my blog disappears and you hear of a crazy woman dragging her two kids and husband to the farthest point on earth consider yourself  ‘in-the-know’. 😉 

Now…I’m supposed to tag folks. I didn’t do it before. I don’t know if I’ll do it this time.  Not that I’m not curious.  We’ll see.  Save that for another post.  

Run on Friends!  

Capt. Phil Harris from Deadliest Catch suffered a stroke last week.  He’s in the hospital recovering.

10 Comments leave one →
  1. February 5, 2010 1:53 pm

    GREAT list and thanks for playing along. I want to see those lights too. I just wish you had attached a crotch shot of your labor. God I’m so crude.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 5, 2010 1:57 pm

      you know…if i had one, i might have!

  2. February 5, 2010 6:34 pm

    Ah! Father runner looks just like his cousin JF in those pictures! Holy COW!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 5, 2010 8:31 pm

      that german blood runs a straight line.

  3. February 5, 2010 7:47 pm

    Love this blog. Love that you are girl. Me too. Love the causes and thread of charity throughout…

    okay, bucket list, you nympho…. (blow your brother, SO!)

    1. Meet my grandchildren. God rest my mother’s soul but she didn’t meet any of my children and just one of her 17 grandchildren. I am convinced we are the one’s that missed out. But I will be selfish I want to meet the fruit of my loins one removed.

    2. Sing the blues. In a bar, in a sparkly gown showing off my arms – my best asset – I can’t sing but I can feel me some blues, right BEHIND my belly button. I need to have them oooooze out.

    3. Travel. travel. travel. Run in Bermuda with my family. Have a margaritas watching the sunset in the Abacos with my husband and children.

    4. Pray in Rome.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 5, 2010 8:30 pm

      yeah. my brother and i are close.

      the blues huh? i will be there with a mini skirt on as your back-up dancer (my legs are my only asset)

  4. February 6, 2010 6:35 am

    Did you ever see the movie? I really liked it. Anyways, I too want to see the Northern Lights and have that on my 101 things to do list. Maybe next year.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 6, 2010 7:04 am

      we just saw the movie last week.
      ironic.

  5. jesseharding permalink
    February 8, 2010 7:56 pm

    You are very lucky that you’ve already done so much and enjoyed it all. I have always wanted to see the Northern Lights. I was actually born in Alaska and grew up there, but I don’t remember the Northern Lights. Alaska is one of the most beautiful places I have ever been to. I definitely recommend it. Good luck and I wish you the best.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 8, 2010 9:19 pm

      it has been a great ride!

Leave a Reply

