Skip to content

It’s a GIRL!

February 4, 2010

After feeling like a dude the last few weeks, I’ve officially been given the full estrogen treatment. Not of the medicinal type, but of the ‘Ga-ga-ooo-la-la’ type.  I’ve been trimmed, waxed, sugared, and shaved. I have removed of any likeness of my brother (or the UPS guy). 

Before: 

After: 

 

“I feel pretty. Oh so pretty. I feel pretty and witty and gay.” 

 Two very wise women once reminded me that beauty is not on the outside.  I totally agree.  I know it’s the heart that matters.  Today though – I’M A GIRL!  It will be short-lived – because hair grows back – but it will be worth it.   Maybe I’ll go buy a dress! or shoes with heels! or ribbons for my hair!  oh wait.  I’m not a 3rd grader anymore…I’ll buy ribbons for LittleFoot’s hair (and a dress for someone who’s getting married…and heels for a short person). 😉 

Back to the heart…we don’t want to miss what’s on the inside.  

So I’ve wrestled with addressing deeper issues.  I get ready, but then I think “deep isn’t funny” – yes, that’s right folks – the only thing in life worth sharing is humor.       ( that was a joke)  

We (FR & I) are gearing up our training again.  This is the first full week of training for our next 1/2 marathon.  It’s weird.  I was used to running more miles and now I’m back to 3 miles here…. 6×400 @ 5k pace there (ooohh baby).  A bit lower miles, but good.  I really want to speed things up so now’s the time.  

With every race I train for I want to focus on something/someone who is in need.  Whether it be a friend, a country, or a situation, my focus has to be outside myself or I get caught up in “I want to go faster” 😉 I want to get this run over”  “I want people to look at me and say ‘do you run’?”  I am a selfish person and have found more success in taking the focus off myself and turning it toward others.  (be careful when turning toward others – especially if you are looking down while running –  wear a helmet) 

So what the he!! am I talking about?!?!  I’m talking about introducing you to my focus for these next two months.  Rice Bowls – I mentioned them here, but I didn’t share much else.  Here is what I know.  Children have been orphaned. Children are starving. Children are dying. 

 

In our country children are obese. Children are jacked up on sugar. Children are fed – literally and figuratively. 

I do not believe I can feed all the children of the world.  I do not believe that the starving child sitting next to my child deserves less than children elsewhere.  Here at home I can make a difference by being HERE.  There I can make a difference by sending my spare – change, love, prayers…whatever. 

So I’m going to.  I’m going to Run for Rice for the next two months.  I’m going to give $1 for every mile I run.  I’m going to put together an unbelievable GIVEAWAY in March that will encourage you to look inside for what you have to give.  Is it miles?  Is it money?  Is it time?  Is it prayer?  Whatever it is.  You have a choice.  

Have I mentioned lately how much I love free will?  😉 

One more for the road: 

 

Don't do this in front of your children!

Yes. I’m driving, singing, and taking a picture of myself while being chased down by a semi.  don’t show my children. (notice the beautiful scenery – this is KS – flat, bare, and without altitude – much like my chest) 

Run on Friends! 

11 Comments leave one →
  1. 5kidswdisabilities permalink
    February 4, 2010 11:47 am

    What a great commitment for a great cause!
    Lindsey Petersen
    http://5kidswdisabilities.wordpress.com

  2. February 4, 2010 3:02 pm

    That’s an awesome cause, kudos to you!!!!! I can’t wait to read your rice journey and see how much you donate!

    I love being a girl, too. I just cut 4″ off my hair and though it’s still long, I’m hyperventilating now. Haha. And I need a nice brow wax here soon ;).

    Happy Thursday!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 4, 2010 3:28 pm

      go girls!
      and
      go rice!

  3. February 4, 2010 6:06 pm

    Love the rice bowl idea.

    You are gay.

    Had to say it.

    But at least you’re not gay and hairy.

  4. February 4, 2010 10:27 pm

    Love the cut…want to see it in person! Go run girlfriend!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 5, 2010 7:08 am

      my butt hurts!
      too many lunges yesterday.
      ugh.

      thanks for loving the cut…much cuter in real life.

  5. February 5, 2010 6:32 pm

    you look awesome!!! 🙂

  6. February 7, 2010 10:47 pm

    such a goof ball you are.
    and i am so glad i read it…because i have been thinking those thoughts while running….”i just want to be done”
    i will change that.
    i can.

    your hair is so cute….your legs are too good.

    i have a rice bowl in the laundry room and it’s nearly full….just from the change in pockets and the floor! crazy.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      February 8, 2010 8:05 am

      yay meg!
      just do it. 😉

Leave a Reply

