Skip to content

I thought I knew…

January 24, 2010

A few days ago I was ‘tagged’ by Katye at RunninAround.  To tell the truth, I really didn’t have a clue what that meant.  Being pretty quick on my feet, I made up the rules and started thinking about what to share.  Here’s what I came up with: Seven things that I thought I knew…

1. I showed horses from the age of 8 until I was 16 years old.  I loved it.  I knew I would have horses in my life forever and that if I wasn’t showing, I would train or coach.  I haven’t been on a horse since.

2. I went to the same school. From pre-K til 11th grade I spent all of my days with the same kids.  We had less than 300 students K-12.  It was close-knit.  On a whim, I transferred to a neighboring school 2 days before my Senior year. I started dating FatherRunner within 3 weeks.  

3. I always knew I would graduate from Kansas State.  I flunked out my first year.  Went to a much smaller university graduated and got my masters.   K-State is still in our hearts – GO CATS!

4. I worked with preschool children right out of college.  They were naughty.  I swore I would never work with preschoolers again.  I’ve been working with preschool children & their families for 12 years now.

5.  There is one town in our state that I said I would never live in.  I have lived in that town for 15 years.

6. I always wanted 4-6 children before I was 30 and to be a stay-at-home-mom. I had my first child at 27, my second at 31 and our family felt complete.  I love working and they loved their childcare providers. 

7. Two years ago my hip was hurting so bad I thought I would never run again.  I decided I could do one more for my 40th.  I did it and now I can’t stop

There have been thousands of times I believed I knew better.  Every one of these instances forever changed my life.  I thought I was in control – now I know better.

Now, I think the rules are to ‘tag’ others.  I can’t decide who.  So I decided not to tag.  Sorry. 

Run on Friends!

ran 17 this week.

18 Comments leave one →
  1. January 24, 2010 1:11 pm

    This is the best 7-things list I think I’ve ever read. I love how our perception of what we think (know!) we’re going to do growing up changes as we actually do. Sometimes situation are beyond our control to make the original mark and sometimes it’s just that we change. I need to show this to my 19-year old, who KNOWS exactly how her life is going to turn out (which btw, it will not be like mine, as she states constantly. 🙂 ). The horse comment just made me laugh!! Have a great Sunday!! And btw, thanks for not tagging anyone (at least me), I’ve been tagged by so many I’m not even sure who and so I’m going a massive list for all and hope they’re happy. It is fun to read and learn about our fellow bloggy friends. At least I know you and I have the shoes in common (they aren’t making my knee numb though, are they??? Eeks, I have no idea what’s going on there!)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 24, 2010 3:30 pm

      Thanks Jill. It was fun to think of those things.

      What is going on with those knees?!?! Maybe they are just resting for Boston. 🙂

  2. January 25, 2010 9:34 am

    I love your blog my friend! Your insights have always been good but I still get so much out of them and from you…
    My Mom brought some old pics of me from highschool and freshman year at KState (sorority stuff) the other day and my oh my…the memories, the feelings of those days, the sudden freedom we all had…so fun but I would never go back, that’s for sure.
    How are you feeling? I send lots of love! A

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 25, 2010 4:38 pm

      I’m feeling great.
      oh. those pictures. i would love to see them.

  3. John permalink
    January 25, 2010 10:14 am

    Just bought two horses! lol. Spouse got hers for Christmas and daughter will get hers for birthday (March 12). So. When you come to visit you will have the opportunity to run and ride. =)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 25, 2010 4:37 pm

      we’ll be right there!

  4. January 25, 2010 10:37 am

    This totally speaks to me after this past year. Thanks for posting it, makes me feel even more “normal”.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 25, 2010 4:37 pm

      we just never know, do we?

  5. January 25, 2010 8:53 pm

    i always knew i would never run…….ha ha ha.
    jokes on me.

    is that john up there….john trent?
    🙂

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 25, 2010 9:32 pm

      yay for running.
      and john is ‘cousin runner’.
      he has horses!

  6. January 25, 2010 10:25 pm

    GREAT list.. Funny i tore my ACL in my knee my senior year in college. When it happened I had a calming feeling. I got to redshirt that year and come back to finish my basketball career…I met my husband that year. Fate has a wonderful way of working out..

    FYI I dont look for replies on others blogs, I comment too much and lose track 🙂

  7. January 27, 2010 8:17 am

    I grew up saying I would never have children! My dying grandmothers words of advice was to not wait much longer to have children or Luke and I would be too old to appreciate them. That was great advice on many levels. I love my boys regardless of how naughty they can be! Good to see you yesterday.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 27, 2010 8:52 am

      amazing isn’t it?

  8. January 28, 2010 8:46 pm

    Wow, we have a lot in common; horses, kids, plans, living in the same town for a long time…great post!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 29, 2010 6:36 am

      very cool.
      thanks.

  9. January 29, 2010 6:33 am

    I too when I was tagged didn’t tag anyone else.

    I loved your post and I have found that when I say NEVER that’s what I end up doing. Now I say Never say Never.

Leave a Reply

