Skip to content

My kids rock!

January 21, 2010

I have to give credit where due…I stole the title.  I’m a plagiaristic whore.  One of my girlfriends has a necklace that says “My kids rock!”   So.  That’s where I got my idea.  I don’t plan on blogging about how I steal my creativity from others. Instead I plan on sharing just why MY kids rock:

Exhibit A:

Meet of Champs 2010 ~ 100 Fly Final ` 3rd place

 This boy has more muscle, ability, speed, agility, dedication, flybility (keep with me), and pride than I do leg hair.  And that is saying a lot.  

Example 2:

  

Meet of Champs 2010 ~ 100 Fly Finish

 Butterfly pictures are just cool.  That’s all there is to it.  I think.

But here’s the big one!  This boy loves the breast stroke. Loves it.  He also happens to do well in it. We believe there is a connection. 

Part 3:

  

2010 Meet of Champs ~ 100 Breast ~ 1st Place

 He’s got this one down.  He will age up to a new age group in a few weeks (hello, department of redundancy department).  He’ll be swimming against the big boys.  It will be good.  His tendency is to not let anyone beat him in the breast stroke –  regardless of how much work it takes.  Looking forward to what adrenaline and hormones have in store for him.  Funny story ~ BigFoot and I were driving down the road on Monday and he sees a car with personalized plates and says “I want to get those when I get a car, but I don’t know what I would put on it.”   Being the ever-appropriate mom I responded “How ’bout ‘BRSTMAN” or “100BRST”?” get it? ‘breastman’ or ‘100breast’?  My children don’t have a chance. 

Back to the kids.

This one rocks too: Exhibit L: 

 LittleFoot Runs  

This girl has made a plan.  She likes structure and likes to have a list or grid to show her how to carry out her goals.  This is a skill that must come natural because I don’t get it.  I encourage her ~ but I tend to be a little more willy-nilly when it comes to anything.  Let’s use my run this morning. I thought about things like “fartlek”, and “tempo run” and “speed work” and realized I have NEVER done any of those.  Not on purpose or from a plan.  I tend pay attention to how I feel and then decide, if I feel good – I go faster, if I feel like crap – I go slower, if I feel like walking – I give myself a quick kick in a$$ and question my intentions and then quickly begin to blame others (cars, weather, the food someone cooked, someone keeping me up to late, etc.).  What I’m really trying to say is…LittleFoot has something in her that says “if you want to do it. just do it.”  My mantra is “crap! I guess I have to do it now.” LittleFoot has decided to do the OKC Kids Marathon – she records 25 miles of running and then runs the last 1.2 miles on marathon day.  She’s 1/5 of the way there.  Wow.

These two really inspire me.  They remind me that I don’t just run for myself but I also run for them.  To remind them that they are worth it. They get one body to live in while on this earth and as long as they have abilities they have a choice to use them.  What they do is totally up to them.  What I do is totally up to me.  My prayer for them is that they will each appreciate their body and ability they have been given.  That they will not take those bodies for granted or hurt them for any purpose (healing, winning, bragging, etc.) but for the purpose they were given.

Okay ~ that’s getting deep.  Here’s one last photo to get me out of this chair and stuff my gullet full of goodness:

Come to mama! 

 I believe this is the PERFECT running fuel for me.  While at a friend’s house she quickly made this yumminess when I started passively aggressively talking about how hungry I was.  I’ve eaten it nearly 27 times since that day (9 days ago).  It’s good!  It consists of rice, 1 can rotel, 1/2 can black beans, fresh cilantro (I add a lot ~ I love cilantro), shredded cheese (I used cheddar-jack because it’s fun to say and because I had some), scoop it up and eat it with a huge bag of chips – feel free to eat the entire bag of chips – you’ll run it off later.  I feel full, but not stuffed.  I don’t get the farts like I might with other foods.  I feel like I get enough protein to last me.  I get some carbs to keep my engine burning.  And it tastes good.  Really good.

Run on Friends!

4.5 miles this morning. 2 easy – 2.5 burn ass hard! 

ps – if you are wondering if we workout/live in a barn the answer is “no” we just happen to have barn siding in the basement.  Too bad you can’t see the red/black checkered carpet -looks like a flannel shirt.  The 70’s brought out some creative decorating with the previous owners.  If you are now wondering “why doesn’t she do something about that?” the reason is we have spilled juice, soda, food, barfed, sweated, pooped, peed (some of those were from dogs-you be the judge) – if there would have been new carpet or walls down there during any of those instances I would be blogging from prison right now – just sayin’.

5 Comments leave one →
  1. January 21, 2010 2:47 pm

    Woohooo…those kids DO rock – you deserved to plagiarize the title!! And is that your daughter using a cell phone on the treadmill??

    I never noticed you have “the shoes” on your photo. They also rock, eh? I was skeptical because they felt like nothing but then I bent and bought them. My feet absolutely LOVE them! I’m gonna stock pile 50 pair so that when they discontinue them, as all my favy shoes happen (sorry about that), I’ll still be able to run :).

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 21, 2010 4:27 pm

      not a cell phone – wiping sweat from her brow. phew!

      yes! those shoes are the best – you’ll be able to sell them like crack if they ever get discontinued.

  2. January 22, 2010 7:42 pm

    i love that you love my made up recipe. 🙂
    i ate it today.
    and yesterday.

    your kids rock.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 22, 2010 9:34 pm

      i do love it.
      way too much.

  3. January 25, 2010 8:54 pm

    i made it for small group….big hit.

Leave a Reply

