Skip to content

Slow start…

January 4, 2010

it’s been a slow start to the new year.  Do I mind?  Hellck no!  It’s all good. 

After a teeny, tiny, itsy bitsy hangover on New Years day…(just pineapple vodka in my gut – I’m fine, thanks) I have run 4 total miles since January 1st.  That averages out to 1 mile/day for all of you math-a-phobes. 

I am the only one back to life (aka work) in this house and it bites!  I had to wake up and take a shower before 10:00.  The good news?  I wore my sunglasses and drove on the interstate for the first time in 3 weeks. The two are not related.  You see, one is a weather observation (the sun is out) and one is a co-dependent issue (FatherRunner did not drive me to work).  Ya with me?

Other brain-filling topics:  Cowboy Spaghetti – everyone should make it.  It’s easy (Mel you can do it) and all children I’ve fed it to like it (even the non-pasta eaters and the “this is weird” gang).  Try it.  Rachel Ray and I are best buds (not in real life – in the “I-think-she’s-my-long-lost-sister-I-should-hunt-her-down-and-make-her-hang-out-with-me” life). 

And…I baked a cake for the early celebration of LittleFoot’s 9th birthday.  (check it out Besties – I do stuff)

Got the colorful-middle idea from this bestie – it was a hit! Everyone was so surprised! (maybe because I baked…or maybe because I stopped to do something…or maybe because I – what? what’s that? this isn’t about me?! ugh!)  LittleFoot knew all about it – she helped (we’re doing cupcakes for her class too).  She’s a little kooky and we love her!

Watch out tomorrow!  I’ve got something special to share with you.  It has nothing to do with running or sugar or being lazy or sleeping in or besties or my betty or family or Rob Thomas (haven’t mentioned him in a while) or cooking or anything you are used to…but still FUN! 

Time to work more now 😦  (crap!)

Run on Friends!

14 Comments leave one →
  1. January 4, 2010 8:33 pm

    Well, you’ve run 4 more miles than I have since Jan 1st! Good lookin’ cake!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 4, 2010 9:32 pm

      well. at least we’re safe and happy.
      thanks for the props – baking is not my forte’

  2. January 5, 2010 8:59 am

    That is the coolest inside of a cake I’ve ever seen.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 5, 2010 9:23 am

      that’s what we thought when we saw it the first time.
      thanks.

  3. January 5, 2010 5:12 pm

    really great cake shana.
    i am IMPRESSED!!! did you buy that cake pan? cuz i am going to borrow it if you did. 🙂 sometime.
    when i am back on sugar.
    so not for a long time.

    great job.
    what in the world will you talk about tomorrow? i can’t think of anything…..
    can’t wait to read it.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 5, 2010 9:13 pm

      I did buy that pan. I figure I can use it every year for everyone’s birthday.
      Borrow it anytime.

  4. January 5, 2010 7:44 pm

    Oh my…that cake is wild!! oooo, I need the recipe – though I can’t bake. Or cook. Actually, I just don’t enjoy cooking. My kids all said on Christmas Eve when I made Shrimp with tortillini, “Mom, are you feeling okay? We’re not having grilled chicken, brown rice and broccoli….” Yeah well, eat up kids, tomorrow we’re back to the basics! Congrats on your 4 miles – and staying injury-free! Atta girl! I think I may need to try that pineapple vodka…hum….

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 5, 2010 9:15 pm

      Here’s the recipe – go to store, buy a mix, follow the directions on mix, add food coloring, put in pan and bake. 🙂

      Congrats on your cooking! I love to cook – hate to bake. It’s the whole right brain/left brain thing.

      • January 6, 2010 3:12 pm

        I’m not sure I could follow that recipe….but I will try. Oh, but I gave up sugar for awhile b/c I have been in a serious sugar hangover since Christmas. But Boston’s on my bday so maybe I’ll convince my kiddos to make me this for me so I don’t screw it up! Thanks :).

      • Mother Runner permalink
        January 6, 2010 3:29 pm

        me too…only i had to wait til after the birthday celebration to give it up – but now, I’m DONE! NO MORE SUGAR!!

  5. January 5, 2010 9:04 pm

    Hehehe, thanks for the mention, I WILL do it. I saw the commercial for the BIG cupcake and was sooo ready to order it. I WANT IT!!

    Welcome to the 1,000+++ club. Details tomorrow

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 5, 2010 9:15 pm

      You can totally do it. It is soooo good.
      I’ve been adding a few miles now, so bring it!

  6. RunninAround permalink
    January 6, 2010 8:17 am

    so i’m a complete dork and I’ve been stalking your blog for the past two days to find out your surprise…its better than me pacing back and forth waiting to go to Disney! I shipped out your giveaway this morning…hope it gets there soon! I through in a little extra something for you, Father Runner, and Little Foot =)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      January 6, 2010 8:39 am

      I’m working on it right now! Hang in there.

      Best of luck at Disney – can’t wait to hear/read about it.

      Thanks for the little surprises! They are going to be thrilled. (me too)

Leave a Reply

