Skip to content

decisions, decisions…

December 30, 2009

I am battling many love/hate decisions today.  Please help me.  I beg you.  Answer my questions – I hate to make major life decisions.

1. Missy Park – you are the Venom to my SpiderMan – I want everything fun thing you have to offer, but that doesn’t mean it’s good for me!  Stop sending me your catalog!  (no.  please don’t.  I love you!  I want it all! call me)  I wonder tho – how could my sweet babies be on sale in your catalog when they aren’t on sale anywhere else?  Is this something special for MotherRunner?  Should I go and buy them all now?  What would you do if your favorite runners were $30 off but you just got a new pair (thanks mom) 3 weeks ago!?!?  I put 2 pair in my virtual shopping cart – virtually bought them both – realized I had virtually no money in my account – virtually cried my eyes out – virtually took one out of shopping cart – the new pair is virtually on its way.

2. Found out I will be going to a conference in Seattle at the end of March (darn).  First thing I did was look for races in the Seattle area.  BAM!  There is a 5k/15k/30k in Blaine the weekend we will be there.  So the big question is 15k or 30k, right?  15k – that’s hardly anything. That’s less than a typical long-run.  But 30k!?!?  I was totally up for it until I saw the race route – you run RIGHT BY THE FINISH LINE after the first 15k and then do another big loop!  WHAT!?!?  You are telling me I will run by the place where other more sane folks will stop but I will keep on running???  Come on!  That is a big FAT mental screw you laugh-in-your-face.  Ooooorrrrrrr….could FatherRunner (I take him everyhere – okay, everywhere but FL) and I look at them and think “whimps!” and blaze on by?  Oh the twisted minds of runners.  (ps – for our non-runner readers 30k = 18 point-something-or-other miles)  What would you do?  15k or 30k? (or 5k?…nah)  Still trying to decide…leaning toward 30K

3. I have 22 miles left to run *ahem* ‘this year’.  And. uh. well. It snowed again.  Should I watch GreenDay live?  RobThomas Live? Matchbox 20 live? Or all 3?  This could take a while.  My ‘mill and I have become really close again lately.  I used to cuss at her and give her the silent treatment – but she’s been holding strong for a long time.  We bought her when LittleFoot was 4 weeks old and LittleFoot will be 9 years old in 1 week!  WTH!!  They have both come a long way.  LittleFoot used to cry A LOT!  (we weren’t sure we were going to keep her there for a while).  Miss ‘Mill took my worries away during nap time (who says you have to wait 6 weeks after delivering a 9lb baby to exercise?).  However, Miss ‘Mill has heard me cry and whine much more over the last few years….Where was I?  Oh yeah…what should I watch as I pound out 22 more miles?  Matchbox 20 for 8 miles yesterday – more today!

4.  New Year’s Eve – should I get a little tipsy or TOTALLY HAMMERED!?!?  Look what Bestie has in store for us! click here.  Hammered, you say?  Okay. Okay. Don’t be so pushy! geesh.  I’ll let you know tomorrow…

5.  Should I drink another cup of coffee or just get my a$$ on the ‘mill?  Coffee? okay.  I did both – I have self-control issues.

Wow.  You have really helped me today!  Thanks.  I knew I could count on my bloggidy bloggy friends.  You always come through.  Now.  Should I shower today or just hang out in my holey, smelly, over-sized, nasty sleep-clothes?  Eventually I showered.  It’s a good thing.

That’s what I thought.

Run on Friends!

7 Comments leave one →
  1. December 30, 2009 4:58 pm

    1. Buy the shoes…
    2. 15k…don’t make me look bad
    3. all 3…you won’t have that much left to do before the end of year that way
    4. a little hammered, not totally…Megs pineapple vodka looked too good
    5. Coffee, run, coffee, pee, coffee!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 30, 2009 5:21 pm

      It’s the same pineapple vodka silly – i don’t know that girl in CA!

      Thanks for the support on the decisions.

      • December 30, 2009 7:57 pm

        I figured you would have Megs…unless you want to run to CA tomorrow and pick me up on the way!

  2. December 30, 2009 11:07 pm

    Whether you choose the 15k or 30k, you’ll do great. The Birch Bay run is a BEAUTIFUL route, right along the shore for most of the way, through a state park for part of the way and practically pancake flat. It’s right close to where I live, perhaps I’ll come join you for the 15k!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 30, 2009 11:16 pm

      That’s just what we needed to hear! Thanks.
      It would be great to meet up.
      I’ll keep you posted.

  3. December 31, 2009 1:02 am

    Way too many decisions… but I have answers for you:
    1. Buy them all. You never know when they will be retired.
    2. Do them all… you show those coffee-addicted Seattleites what you’re made of!
    3. Watch all of them… you show Miss Mill that you don’t need screaming kids to get you running!
    4. Get hammered… show the porcelain throne what you ate!
    5. Run in your stinky jammies while you drink coffee.

    Happy New Year!

    PS Thanks for the comments on my blog! 🙂

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 31, 2009 9:10 am

      Ah. yes. a runner after my own heart.
      Thanks Sara. 😉

Leave a Reply

