Skip to content

Christmas hangover

December 28, 2009

No. I didn’t drink too much – well, not last night.  I am just relaxing in the aftermath of what was a wonderful Christmas.  Not wanting any of it to end.  I LOVE being at home.  I LOVE not having to worry about too much.  I LOVE listening to my kids play – guitar, dolls, text, giggle, Wii, etc. 

This may have been my favorite Christmas EVER!!  This was the first year (I remember) not focusing on what to give and what to get, but instead focus on what others may need.  Sure, it was fun to give & get, but this year was totally different – in my heart.  It took 40 years, but it was worth the wait.

Some highlights of eve & day:

Favorite gifts to give:

gave this painting to Father Runner, LittleFoot and BigFoot – all of them just stared and wondered “who did this?” (never thinking me – i could have) asking “how did you get this?”  Well – this gal painted it for us.  She is raising $$ to bring their baby home.  Check it out and e-mail her, she’ll do one for you too!  Really. The fam took more time with this gift than any other.  Thanks Amy!

Another favorite to give was to FIL – last month he was run over by his own truck while working under it.  We gave him wheel blocks:

he seemed to enjoy it.

My favorite to receive was my water t-shirt from BigFoot and Kris Allen cd from LittleFoot – he was only the 2nd American Idol contestant LittleFoot and I have ever voted for (Chris Daughtry too) – should you ever be on American Idol, and your name is Kris/Chris – we’ll vote for YOU!   FatherRunner and I stopped giving each other gifts years ago – don’t worry, he got something from me. 😉

We did our 11 miles for Baby Cora – we did them on the ‘mill. After a snowy two days and tiny, single-digit temperatures, everything happened inside.  It was hard.  It was interesting.  Luckily we gave BigFoot the GreenDay Live DVD to entertain us him while we ran.  I really couldn’t take my brain to Joel & Jess and their loss for very long.  I prayed. I ran. I listened to GreenDay. But to say I thought of them the entire time would not be truthful – it’s too hard.  I can’t imagine what it would be like to lose a child.  I can’t make myself think about it… 

For you runners out there – I got these – not that you have to be a runner.  You don’t.  I just like how they give my feet a little massage after running and running.  Get them! you’ll be glad you did.

The absolute best part of my entire Christmas was the fact that our Christmas lunch was postponed to Saturday due to weather.  All we had to do all day was enjoy each other and play.  I really hope Christmas is postponed every year.

Hope your Christmas was Merry!

Run on Friends!

 39 miles – 3 w/ FR (ggrrr…) – 11 for Cora  – 3 this morning = 22 more miles by Friday. No problem.

12 Comments leave one →
  1. RunninAround permalink
    December 28, 2009 3:49 pm

    This is wonderful! Keep up all the amazing work! And I love the painting…I am definitely going to look into that!

    Would you mind sharing these this with your wonderful bloggers?

    My new Sunday FunDay
    http://runninaround.wordpress.com/2009/12/28/llrps-sunday-funday-a-new-tradition/

    Thank you so much! I would really appreciate it =)

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 28, 2009 3:52 pm

      You got it!
      I was just going to add a “Giveaway Today” tab on my left and keep folks updated.

  2. RunninAround permalink
    December 28, 2009 5:08 pm

    Thank you!

  3. December 28, 2009 9:11 pm

    Wow, you got and gave, some cool things! I love that running shoe picture – what a cute idea! Sooo glad you had the bestesty-best Chrstimas ever!!! Happy New Year!!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 28, 2009 10:31 pm

      Hope yours rocked as well.

  4. December 28, 2009 8:30 pm

    I am glad to hear you had such an amazing Christmas! FIL?? Didn’t know anything about it…please give him our best. He looks good…is he good? Happy day!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 28, 2009 10:31 pm

      Yep. He’s good. Click on it to find out more…about you too!

  5. December 29, 2009 11:34 pm

    Hi, nice blog! I got curious when you said, on Jill’s blog, that you would never do Boston. Um, why? I just read you did 3 in 23-24? Don’t let Boston intimidate you. If I can do it, you can do it.
    Elaine

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 30, 2009 8:05 am

      Awwww…Elaine, you’re sweet. That 3 in 23 was a fluke I tell ya! Holding on to that for 26 miles would kill me.
      But it’s good to know folks have faith in me. 🙂
      I’ll be right over to check you out.

  6. December 30, 2009 9:08 am

    Hey…saw your comment on my blog…you are on my inspiration wall…see the water drop on the right side? That’s all you babe!!! I also checked out the post you had about FIL…that was in the middle of all my crap…no wonder I didn’t see. Email me about which niece…that’s is amazing and awful all at the same time.
    Love ya!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 30, 2009 9:22 am

      Yeah. You were a tad bit out of commission then.

Leave a Reply

