Skip to content

Merry Christmas! Happy Holidays! Joy to the World!

December 24, 2009

Folks.  It’s been quite a week.  Did my happy running with my honey on Monday and then went down hill.  Not too bad actually, but still not what I was hoping for. 

I took Tuesday off from all exercise.  I was proud of myself at the time.  I felt like I deserved a bit of a break…bake more bread…do more shopping…wrap more gifts… and then would do my some mid-miles on Wednesday. Wednesday had different plans for me.

See “Jett – The Big Black Dog” out there? Eating his own frozen dog crap?  Seems fitting.

Tuesday I baked 6-8 more loaves of bread (4 mini loaves & muffins in there) and allowed the children to invite friends over (I thought I was entertainment enough!).  It was a good day. Start to finish.

Got the stairs vacuumed, floors cleaned, kids fed, dinner and family night planned.  (we decided we would do family night every night this week instead of 1x/week). 

(please ignore my carpet.  every time you see it pretend it is a beautiful hard wood floor…or bamboo…or something different from what it is – it was brand new when we moved in 7 years ago…blech!)

All I’m saying is Tuesday was great.  I was going to get my run in Wednesday and life would be back to normal…

Wednesday: woke up with a headache.  Took Advil LiquiGels (love them), put on running clothes, mixed 2 more loaves of bread, put them in the oven, looked at clock – not enough time to run before leaving for haircut – take shower instead.  (tummy aches a little) Get the kids ready too and take bread out of oven.  Leave for haircut – I’ll run when I get home – drive 40 minutes to where my sister is in cosmetology school – spend 1.5 hrs on 1 haircut and 1 eyebrow wax = $8!  Starving.  Get lunch in mall while buying Father Runner’s last gift. Uh oh!  That did not taste good. Stomach immediately starts hurting – bad!  Get home, lay on couch, do everything I can not to throw-up (I hate to throw-up – H.A.T.E.!!!).  Father Runner comes home.  They all kinda wander in and out of TV room with the look of “is she going to feed us tonight?” on their faces.  I oblige.  I teach Father Runner how to make MM Sandwiches and then hit the couch again. It smells GOOD…I eat with the family.  Stomach cramps worse.  Play Trouble with family and win! Lay on the floor while they finish out 2nd, 3rd and 4th places – it was a close one.  Go to couch to watch “A Christmas Story” with family.  Fall asleep and wake up violently when I hear Ralphie gagging on Lifeboy soap. phew! It wasn’t me!  Watch remainder of movie. Go to bed and pray, pray, pray that I can make it through the night.  I DID!! 

I don’t know what was up.  My head still hurts this morning, but I’m going to run.  My stomach only hurts a little and feels very hungry (I think it’s a trick!).  Unfortunately the weather today calls for “Blizzard Warning – Total Whiteout Conditions” – I’m sitting in my favorite spot in the house and watching 40-50 mph winds blow the snow sideways across my yard.  I’ll be hitting the treadmill – and keeping a trashcan close by!

I hope you and your family are well this Christmas (or whatever you celebrate).  Please keep our friends Joel & Jess in your prayers/well wishes/thoughts as they celebrate Christmas without baby Cora.  Also finishing up my running for the year thinking of BIG E & Luke – there is a lot to be thankful for and a lot of hope to bring to those around us. 

From all of us…

Run on Friends!

10 Comments leave one →
  1. December 24, 2009 1:01 pm

    I am so sorry that you didn’t feel good…all that cranberry bread might just make it all better…or not. Love the picture too! Merry Christmas and I send my love!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 24, 2009 1:04 pm

      amazingly enough…just ran 3 miles – feel soooo much better!
      wish we were there/or you were here.
      love you all.

  2. RunninAround permalink
    December 24, 2009 2:29 pm

    Love your heading =) Great Blogs think alike I guess! My run today=epic fail as well. we got our first big blizzard of the year here in Maryland last Saturday and there are still 24inches of standing snow/ice on all my fave trails and routes so I’ve had to resort to the treadmill aka treadhell…went to the gym today and apparently everyone in the known universe decided to work out today and the only treadmill open was next to a man running 6:30 miles screaming YEAHHHH DO THIS!!! outloud about every 5 mins. Couldn’t handle it. Went home without even finishing a mile. Oh well…

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 24, 2009 2:40 pm

      No way! He was yelling about his running?!?!
      Did you punch him (in your mind)?
      I did get a little run in this morning and DID NOT need the trash can!
      Hope your trails clear out quickly.

  3. December 25, 2009 1:24 am

    look at you….The Schmidts! you are bold!
    i like it!

    we are headed to bed so santa can come.
    🙂
    merry christmas mother runner!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 25, 2009 9:58 am

      Very Bold.
      Merry Christmas back atcha!

  4. December 26, 2009 10:30 am

    What a gorgeous family pic, thanks for sharing! I didn’t even attempt to get a picture out this year…never ever run a marathon in the midst of the holiday season, lesson learned. Ha. Well okay, you can but just be more organized than me!! I hope you are feeling better and not coming down with some icky crud. btw, do you live in the Denver area (did we talk about this before. Geez, old age sucks)? Not many people run the Bolder Boulder who don’t. I’m on the fence about that one. ’08 was a great race, ’09 totally worthless.

    I hope you had a great Christmas. Love your snowflakes falling on your blog :).

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 26, 2009 10:35 am

      i feel soooo much better – thanks. Christmas was perfect! But had to run inside. 😦
      don’t live in denver anymore 😦 – just a tad east (like 500 miles).
      maybe see you @ BB or T9K.
      I’d do ING w/ you…maybe…I’ll think about it…it’s spring break…I have the miles…hmmm, $$….we’ll see.

  5. December 28, 2009 11:54 am

    Totally tearing up over here reading about baby Cora. Thanks for sharing. Her parents sound amazing.

    On another note. Why do dogs eat their own crap or the crap of other dogs, animals, etc? It’s just wrong. My daughter always says that she wouldn’t do that if she were a dog. She doesn’t get that for dogs it’s not a choice like it is for humans. They just go for it.

    Glad you never barfed. I have a total and complete barf phobia (it’s called emetophobia actually) so I get where you’re coming from. Yet another commonality.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 28, 2009 11:58 am

      Thanks for the diagnosis! 😉 I’m sure there are many more where that one came from.

      Good for your daughter! I read that if you put pineapple juice in dog food they won’t eat their own crap – tried it once but not patient enough to watch them in the yard all day. oh well.

Leave a Reply

