Skip to content

Sweet!

December 18, 2009

Un-friggin-believable!  I ran 3 miles this morning in 23 minutes!  I don’t know what got into me.  I know I had to get back, take a shower and get somewhere…and it was crazy cold and windy, but still.  That was super fast for me. As in – I kept double checking my watch to make sure…  As in – maybe I read it wrong when I left my driveway…As in – I was flying and liked it, but still.  A typical run would take me 30 minutes – I’ve been consistent with that for 15-16 years.  Recently it’s been closer to 26-27 minutes.  Just weird.  *side note. I did not look at the seconds on my watch, all I saw was 8:23 when I started and 8:46 when I finished.  Maybe it said 8:23.01 and 8:46.59 – which would then technically be 24 minutes – but who counts the seconds?  SWEET! 

Last week FatherRunner was honored at his office for 15 years of employment.  On each 5 year anniversary his company gives employees a little booklet to choose a gift – as the years go on, the gifts get better.  This is what he chose:   

SWEET! I thought he did it because he’s had to put up with me for 15 years as well (+8 years of dating).  He said it’s because he loves watching me cook and likes to brag over his leftovers.  FR – you get points. 😉 

While opening a package of water stuff – found a surprise in the envelope:   

No.  Not the kid – the hat.  This amazing woman sent it to me!  I love it!  I’m one step closer to matching all of my cold-weather running gear! Thanks Cass.  So sweet. (another side note: originally i did not plan on showing any faces on my blog.  i like our privacy. but…i can no longer resist.  they melt me. so there.) 

Motivation: 

Chocolate'

This is what keeps my butt running!  If I ate all of that (which I did – moments after the picture) and didn’t run. Life would be different.  My pants would fit a tad more snug.  My children would have a grouchy mommy.  FatherRunner wouldn’t be the recipient of my never-ending-rock-n-roll-lovin’.  It would just be wrong.  So. I run. And then…I eat!  Sweet.  

This car is SUH – WEEEET!!! 

 

If I wouldn’t look like some 40-year-old cougar, trying to find a mullet-wearing-dip-wad, or a 20-something-metrosexual (I imagine the maturity level the same)…I would buy that car!  I would put down my computer right now and go to the nearest dealer. If I had a spare $30K or was no longer driving kids to and from practices and friends’ houses in the rain, ice, mud, and such…I would buy that car!  If I could stand to be that close to the ground while driving…I would buy that car!  It is an obsession.  The kids are starting to point them out and ask what color I want and if I am really going to get one.  I tell them, “Absolutely.  June 1, 2019” Right after LittleFoot graduates High School.  However our other dream of moving back to Colorado the day after she starts college might be hindered a bit by driving a Camaro up the mountains…hmmm.  What to do? 

Christmas break has officially started in our home.  FatherRunner and I have been waiting to do some shopping and have been asking the kids “don’t you have a friend that wants you to spend the night?” Well.  Tonight’s gonna be a good night.  We have a date. Oh so SWEET! 

Sweet sugared Betty. I’m smooth! 

Run on Friends!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. December 18, 2009 7:11 pm

    You both get a well deserved gift for his 15 years…he is such a good guy. I have said that so many times over the years and it still remains true. Have fun on your date night! Love ya! A

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 18, 2009 7:14 pm

      Yep. No complaints here.
      except…no mullet!

  2. December 18, 2009 7:15 pm

    oh my…she looks SO adorable in that hat!
    so glad i got to see her face! 🙂

    and i truly hope nobody is your house starts puking tonight…puts a bit of a damper on the date.
    HAVE FUN!!!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 18, 2009 7:17 pm

      oh cass. i’m sorry.
      i think our date turned into a stay-at-home-date (if ya know what I mean…wink, wink)

  3. December 19, 2009 5:07 pm

    i’ve had my eye on that hat for a while! i think cass likes you better than me. 😉

    hope your date…uh, rocked. 😉

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 19, 2009 6:45 pm

      it was a night of making a list. checking it twice. and waiting for a pre-teen to get home from a dance.
      woo. hoo.

Leave a Reply

