Skip to content

it ain’t pretty (and a few random thoughts)

December 2, 2009

Favorite movie EVER!

What do Harry & Lloyd have to do with me?  I can relate to the frozen snot.  That’s all I’m saying. (I didn’t pee myself)

It’s cold man.  I can live with 30° – I can live with “blustery” winds – I can live in the plains with no wind block – however combining those = CRAZY!  I want to know – do other states have “wind chills”?  Do other runners have to adjust their attire for the wind chill instead of the actual temperature?  Do other runners have to look straight down at the ground because their eyes tear up and freeze?  Do other runners brave going straight into the wind at the slowest pace ever in order to strip most of their clothes on the way home and run faster than their legs can typically move?  Just wondering.

Before I left the house I looked in the mirror  – and laughed a little.  I have favorite attire – it just doesn’t match.  Black pants – black & blue jacket (not bad so far).  The jacket is made of some freaky fabric that attracts everything – hair, lint, dirt, fuzz, leaves, you name it – I washed it – it looks worse!  On my head – a pink and brown striped stocking cap (99¢ at Alco last year) – fits perfect – has a little powercat on the front (GO CATS!).  On my hands are the best invention ever – these – I chose the snot-green color from last year’s collection (so thankful today).  Any other time I wouldn’t leave the house looking like this.  Going on a run? Anything goes.

The only problem is (Mom – this is for you) – I know I said I wouldn’t show this.  But things come up.

It’s time for new shoes.  My sweet babies have worked hard. They have way more miles on them than any good running shoe should.  You see. Mom said to me the other day “I want to help my children when they need me.” I NEED YOU MOM!!!  Just click on sweet babies and help me.  I’m dying.  Okay – I’m not dying, but if you think I’m dying from bad shoes will you get me new ones?  thanks mom. you’re the best!

Back to the run:  Here’s what happened in my head…(I love to run by the way – but sometimes start out cussing)

Mile one – running straight into 20mph wind – 27° ‘wind chill’ – begin the cussing and asking God a lot of questions.  “God? What do you want me to do with this (blog? life? run? job? – to name a few)?”  You know what I heard? “Stop.”  It was clear.  It was obvious.  “WHAT?!?!?  STOP??? Stop running? Stop blogging? WHAT?” (I panicked – God didn’t mind) “Stop worrying.”  oh. okay.  

Do you hear God?  Sometimes it takes me a while.  Sometimes he just answers.  Is it audible?  Not for me.  I think I would freak out – start running in circles trying to get away from the voice – look around – ask everyone around “did you hear THAT?!?!” But God speaks clearly.  He’s the goodness.  Never evil.  Never wrong. Just good.  Thanks God.

Aneee Wayyyy—mile 2 – I was still going into the wind but felt better about it – it was coming to an end soon (turn ahead). “How can I use this run to glorify You today?”  “Just run. Run for those you know and those you do not. Run for those hurting and those healing.”  got it.

Mile 3 – just turned – not too bad.  A lot of cross winds trip me – but Rob Thomas makes it better.  Thanks Rob.  I can always count on you. You and God. You, God and Father Runner.

Mile 4 – 5  & 6 – turned south! PTL!!  Wow!  I’m fast!  I rock!  Woo Hoo!  where was I?  Oh yeah. I’m running for you and you and you.  I’m running for those who can’t.  I’m running for those who hurt.  I’m running for those who have lost someone they love. I’m running for those who are reaching out to others like our good friend Big E building a library in Liberia (say that fast)- dear sweet Jody who has blessed 1000’s with clean water – there are many others too.  So. I made a plan.  I don’t have a race this month.  I want to do something. So….

Yesterday my childhood friend Michael was buried after a courageous battle with cancer .  He was 41 yrs old.  He left his wife Sam and their two daughters.  Sam has MS.  I’m going to run 41 miles this month for Michael’s life on earth.  I’m going to donate to MS. I’m going to write Sam a letter.

Saturday our friend Russ will run the St. Jude 1/2 Marathon in memory of his son Konley who lost a long battle with cancer last winter.  I am going to run 10 miles on Saturday for every year of precious life Konley blessed this world.  I’m going to donate to St. Jude’s for all the children who are still fighting and in memory of Konley.  It is going to be an emotional run for Russ.  He promised Konley he would do this.  You’re doing it Russ! We love you. Think of the family – pray for them – strengthen them – offer them hope.

On Christmas morning I’m going to run 11 miles for the 11 precious months baby Cora blessed the lives of our friends Joel & Jess.  It’s going to be a hard day.  Think of them – pray for them – strengthen them – offer them hope.

During this month I’m also going to run another 29 miles for every $100 our friend Big E will raise for his mission trip to build a library (more details later). So proud of you! 

If you are keeping track that is 91 miles (I think – my math’s not so good).  Part of me thinks “that’s a lot” another part says “who cares?”  It’s just miles. (if only I had new shoes…mom? you there?)

Run on Friends!

11 Comments leave one →
  1. Mother Runner permalink
    December 2, 2009 3:42 pm

    Mom ROX! She texted me: “OK. How much? & were the blisters added for effect?” Thanks mom!
    and the blisters…they look much worse. they’ve popped now and are ripping apart. no photos.

  2. December 2, 2009 6:43 pm

    thank goodness.
    i about clicked and bought you a new pair myself!!
    you run girl!!!!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 2, 2009 6:46 pm

      feel free. the new ones won’t last long running this much!

  3. December 2, 2009 10:19 pm

    ouch! You are relentless my friend! Good job…am so proud of you…you have some big goals but I know you (and God) can do it! Love ya!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 2, 2009 11:54 pm

      no biggie…right?

  4. December 3, 2009 4:45 pm

    Lovely feet and blisters. Ouch is all I can say. Love that you are running for these great causes. Each run needs a purpose…

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 3, 2009 5:59 pm

      i couldn’t agree more.
      and those blisters…looking more knarly – but feel fine!

  5. December 3, 2009 6:48 pm

    LOVED your comment on my blog!!! Nice visiting yours! Ouch on that blister, icky!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 3, 2009 6:52 pm

      lovin’ your blog too! psht – blisters -schmisters. my new shoes will be here soon! 🙂

  6. December 3, 2009 7:32 pm

    hey! i am trying to cook dinner here…..i don’t need to be crying my eyes out while i am doing it.
    🙂
    just kidding.
    man…life is hard.
    really.
    so many hurting people.
    i am so glad you have your running.
    you really are something special girlie.

    • Mother Runner permalink
      December 3, 2009 8:21 pm

      aawwww…don’t do that. now i’m going to cry.

Leave a Reply

