Skip to content

The final countdown…

November 19, 2009

Is this a reference to the ’80’s hairband Europe?  Is this ground control to Major Tom? (wait – now David Bowie?)

No.  It’s just me gearing up to head to Florida for the run!  Yay!  It’s here!  Totally pumped about being there…however the travel (blech!), the packing (ugh!) and the leaving the family (sniff!) is the hard part.  I could do without all of that.   What I can have more of is: Sunshine! Quiet time!  Laughter! Exercise (it’s the holidays man)! Deep discussions. Rediculous discussions.  Ethnic food (to counter-balance that exercise). and maybe some spirits (after the race silly).  I’ve been off the booze for 2 weeks – okay, one week – okay 6 days.  But will not drink another beer or glass of wine until Sunday night – if that’s legal in Florida. 🙂

Here is the most amazing part of this trip:  While I’m running for water in Florida, Scott Harrison (charity:water founder) will be in Iowa celebrating water4christmas.  Amazing!  I read a book a couple of years back called The Sacred Echo (by Margaret Feinberg) – in it she shares accounts of how God prepares us for what is to come by repeating the same theme, song, idea, verse, whatever, until he gets our attention (very paraphrased by the way).  Since I read the book my eyes have been opened at how God works.  Should I be surprised by Him? Sometimes I laugh about it “really God? This song?”  Sometimes I am curious about it, “What is that supposed to mean?”  Sometimes I’m just amazed – this weekend is one of those times (and another here in a second).  When I set out to run this 1/2 marathon I wanted to do it for something bigger than me – when I shared my idea with with the water4christmas girls they were thrilled and then they told me Scott would be in Iowa – THE SAME WEEKEND I’M RUNNING!!  I’m just amazed!  God has plans.  Kinda fun and interesting plans if you ask me (were you asking?) 

The second story is one related to yesterday’s post.  I mentioned feeling small and how I needed to feel small….well today my devotional was on just that.  “But he said to me, ‘My grace is enough for you.  When you are weak, my power is made perfect in you.’ So I am very happy to brag about my weaknesses.  Then Christ’s power can live in me. For this reason I am happy when I have weaknesses, insults, hardtimes, sufferings, and all kinds of troubles for Christ. because when I am weak, then I am truly strong.” 2 Cor. 12 9-10  How about that!?!? God. You still surprise me. Thanks.

If you are wondering.  I’ve ran a few miles in the last few days – 8 to be exact.  If you have been following along, praying, donating, or rolling your eyes…thank you.  I appreciate all of the support, thoughts, and water provided.   To donate $8 for this weeks training – one more time – click here or here

Sunday will be the race and you can donate $13.10 on that day as well – in support.  It will bring 1 liberian clean water for 13.1 years. 🙂

If you are going to be in Florida for the 1/2 or are quietly stalking me…I’ll be wearing this:

See that little packet of goodness in my left hand (on the right)?  That is my new best friend – GU Chomps.  (sorry girls.  I know I said you were my best friends but GU gives me super powers, sustains my energy for hours…and does not make me laugh until I pee a little.)  

I will miss you all.  I’ll take pictures.  I’ll get a tan. I’ll make you jealous.  

Run on Friends!

ps – I e-mailed Maragaret Feinberg after reading that book and she is awesome.  We had a fun little conversation for a while.  I think you would like her & her books – new one just came out  – get it. Over and out!

6 Comments leave one →
  1. November 19, 2009 12:41 pm

    i’ll be thinking about you!!
    RUN FAST!
    RUN FAR!
    FINISH THE RACE! 🙂
    (oh…and maybe you could send me a box of those little goodies to get me through this weekend!)
    ha!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      November 19, 2009 1:40 pm

      i’ll be thinking about you too!
      invitations look great.
      way to go! have a great time.

  2. November 19, 2009 2:02 pm

    go go go!
    you will rock it.
    that shirt is super cute.
    miss you already!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      November 19, 2009 2:08 pm

      i miss you too.
      thanks for the encouragement.

  3. November 19, 2009 2:32 pm

    have an awesome trip!

    i think you will be so tired when you come home that you will need to stay home for Thanksgiving so you can see me. 🙂 a girl can hope.

    love you! i’ll be thinking of you all weekend and missing you!

    • Mother Runner permalink
      November 19, 2009 2:43 pm

      thanks!
      i’ll try that one on father runner. maybe he’ll go for it.
      love you too!

Leave a Reply

