Skip to content

Making this easy on you.

November 3, 2009

I guess if I’m going to give you a challenge, then I shouldn’t make it so easy on you! Darn! 

Actually – Monday was a ‘rest day’ and today was an ‘aerobics day’ so it’s not like I’m sitting around eating this:

candy

This is all that's left!

minus that little Snickers there in the back – they really satisfy! If I’m going to take a picture of it, I need deserve a reward.  Obviously I’m not rewarded on quality of photos.  Duh!  This is not a photo-blog, it’s an inspirational blog.  🙂   So where’s the inspiration?  Okay. Fine.

As I’m running, I usually am looking at this: pavement No. I don’t stare directly at my feet, but have you ever tried to run and take a picture of your own feet?  It’s painful.  That camera keeps smacking you on the nose.  You trip and get a bloody knee.  You don’t see the dog crossing in front of you.  Just hard man! Okay.  None of that happened to me – because I was smart enough to know I’d break my leg.  And then what!?!?

My point is.  I look down.  I don’t pay attention to what is around me.  I don’t always look at what is right in front of me.  I believe many of us are busy ‘looking down’.  Looking at ourselves.  How to meet our own needs.  How to make more money.  How to get out of debt.  How to get more alone time.  What ever it may be.   But what if we stopped looking at ourselves and started looking up?  What if we saw this in the process?

fall

I don’t want to miss this!  That’s a lot more interesting than my feet! I don’t want to miss what is put before me. 

Many times I’ve missed an opportunity to connect with BigFoot & LittleFoot because of “just a minute“. Many times I’ve missed time with a BFF because “I have to work”. Many times I’ve lost last chances to tell someone how much I love them because I’m “too busy“.  Many times I’ve missed an opportunity to help others “because I can’t afford to“.  I think what I want should trump what someone else may need.   

These little moments are set before us for a reason.  I don’t know what your reasons are -but mine are becoming a tad more clear.   I named this post “Run the Race” after my (current) favorite Bible verse: “…So let us run the race that is before us and never give up. .. Let us look only to Jesus, the One who began our faith and the One who makes it perfect.” Hebrews 12:1-2  He’s not asking us to just try a little or to ignore what we know.  Instead He is telling us to never give up.  Never stop wanting to know, learn and help. Never.  At least that is what I am hearing. 

I encourage you to find what you are running toward.  Find out what you believe.  Know what skills you have to fight with and use them.  Sew. Give. Share. Take pictures. Tell. Teach. Create. Sell. Search. Love. Live. Believe. Simply, Run the Race.

Run on Friends!

ps – November Challenge – Day 2 is tomorrow!

One Comment leave one →
  1. November 4, 2009 10:44 am

    What a great post…inspiring to say the least. I am slowly getting back to my roots and I needed to hear this. I love you dearly!

Leave a Reply

