Skip to content

Cousin Runner.

October 23, 2009

Did you know I have a Cousin Runner?  No?  Me neither.  I know Father Runner has cousin runners, but I didn’t know I did.  Guess what?  I do.

Last week I received an e-mail from Cousin Runner telling me about how he started running last spring and has since lost 50 lbs!  Whoa!  GO COUSIN RUNNER!  You know what I said?  “Send me a picture of your feet!”  He did.

cousinrunner

Nice rides Cousin Runner!  Next thing I wanted to know: “Can I interview you?”  (you see, Cousin Runner lives over 1000 miles from Mother Runner.  It’s not like we can go for a run and chat it out)  He said, “sure” (really. did he have a choice?)  Here goes:

MR: So, why’d you start runnin’?

CR: I was fat (this was his first reponse – honest). Running was difficult in the beginning but I have come to truly love it. 

MR: Good for you!  What has kept you motivated?

CR: Don’t want to be fat again.(again – honesty)  I just keep looking toward the next goal.  I have signed up for a half and a full marathon.  Eventually, I would like to do ultramarathons.  I would like to do the JFK50 in the Fall of 2011 and eventually the Western States 100 within a few years.

MR: Whoa! 50-100 Miles?! What do you think about/listen to during all of that running?!?!?

CR: Metallica, Judas Priest, Iron Maiden, AC/DC – pretty much hard core heavy metal.  I think about my next competition, my form, my breathing, things going on my life (personal and professional).  Pretty much anything to keep my mind occupied.

MR: Amen!   What do you think is the greatest tragedy of our time?

CR: Genocide in various contries.  (editors note: his first answer was Obama – funny Cousin Runner)

MR: What do you think is the easiest thing folks can do to help?

CR: Make themselves aware and let the government know that this is not acceptable.

MR: CR. Have I mentioned YOU ROCK?!  Way to go!

Hope you enjoyed our time together.  Check in next week for a surprise guest interview with someone who I am not related to.

Run on Friends!

 

One Comment leave one →
  1. October 23, 2009 12:52 pm

    well that is SO awesome!!
    i must say, i am totally jealous, because i TOO started running last spring and i have lost ZERO pounds. what the heck is wrong with me. and i have never even come close to enjoying it.
    so good for him!
    that’s great!
    love his big goals!!

Leave a Reply

