Skip to content

Training for…

October 13, 2009

I’m training to run the inagural Women’s Half Marathon in St. Pete’s FL in November. 

Initially this was planned because, well, I felt like it.  I had just finished the Chicago 1/2 and was not ready to let go of the feeling.  On the flight home I saw the ad for the 1/2 in Women’s Running magazine and thought, “alright”.  At the same time, a girlfriend was trying to find another one to run.  We decided it would be a great way to keep up the training and get a chick-date out of the deal.  “What is a chick-date?” you might ask… Well. It is me and another chick planning time to do chick things without spouses, children, school activities, work, cooking, responsibilities, cleaning, laundry… uh.  I think you get it.  Anyway…we decided to go.

Okay. So here is the tricky part.  I also believe in bringing water to folks in Africa who  do not have access to clean  water.  So this is what I decided.  Why wouldn’t someone who loves (aka: loathes) running and loves giving to others put something together?  I guess she/he would.  

Between now and November 22nd – the day of the race – click on water whenever you visit and give.  Give $20 – give $200 – give $2 – give prayer – or whatever you can give and know that you have brought clean water to moms, dads, teachers, children, and many others.

2 Comments leave one →
  1. October 13, 2009 12:23 pm

    Very cool my friend! Maybe you can inspire me to move…hopefully!

  2. October 14, 2009 3:17 pm

    ok. i’m tired just reading about all your energy. the links are awesome! LOVE the blog. and i LOVE, LOVE, LOVE how your mind works.

Leave a Reply

